Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Barry Hutter Leads Day 1A Of Card Player Poker Tour Venetian Main Event

Hutter Leads 33 Day 1A Survivors, Day 1B Kicks Off Wednesday Afternoon


Day 1A of the Card Player Poker Tour Venetian main event is in the books and Barry Hutter is leading the 33 remaining players after nine levels of play.

The first of two starting flights attracted 92 entries willing to put up the $5,000 buy-in, generating $425,500 towards the $2 million guaranteed prize pool.

Hutter finished the day atop the leaderboard with 196,600 in chips. Thomas Boivin (140,800), Andrew Crookston (122,100), Jules Dickerson (120,000) and Kristina Holst (119,200) join him at the top of the chip counts.

Crookston held the chip lead for most of the day, and had more than 200,000 in level 8, but the last level didn’t go his way. Hutter, on the other hand, used a last level surge to the top of the heap. Dickerson used a late-day elimination of Mike Matusow to vault himself into the discussion for the chip lead.

Other notables to make it through the day include recent WSOP bracelet winner Anatolii Zyrin, Zachary Donovan, Adam Owen, Sergio Aido, Anton Wigg, Chris Klodnicki, Jeremy Ausmus, Ryan Laplante, Ray Qartomy, and Ryan Tosoc.

Not everybody was lucky enough to survive the day’s action. Mike Matusow, Justin Young, Joe Cada, Jamie Gold, Ian O’Hara, Chance Kornuth, David Paredes and David Jackson were among the notable day 1A eliminations.

Anybody who failed to survive Tuesday has another chance to enter on day 1B, which kicks off at 12:10 p.m. Wednesday. They will play the same nine, one-hour levels as day 1A. Re-entry and registration is open until the start of level 13 on day 2.

There is a last chance turbo mega satellite running at 10 a.m. at the Venetian Wednesday morning for anybody looking to get into the event for less than $5,000. The $600 no-limit hold’em satellite tournament will award one seat for every 10 players the tournament gets.

The satellite will have 15-minute levels throughout the tournament and will send players directly into the day 1B action. You can find the entire structure here.

Full Day 1A Chip Counts:

Rank Name Chip Count
1 Barry Hutter 196,600
2 Thomas Boivin 140,800
3 Andrew Crookston 122,100
4 Jules Dickerson 120,000
5 Kristina Holst 119,200
6 David Quang 118,300
7 Xi Xiang Luo 107,000
8 Anatolii Zyrin 99,700
9 Zachary Donovan 88,700
10 Paul Fontan 88,100
11 Adam Owen 86,300
12 Aaron Been 81,700
13 Michael Tureniec 80,600
14 Ryan Remington 74,400
15 Sergi Reixach 62,300
16 Sergio Aido 61,600
17 Anton Wigg 60,600
18 Alexandros Theologis 56,900
19 Chris Klodnicki 51,300
20 Daniel Smilskovic 50,600
21 Jeremy Ausmus 49,600
22 Javier Gomez Zapatero 41,600
23 Ryan Laplante 39,000
24 Ray Qartomy 36,200
25 Joe Kuether 32,600
26 Darren Rabinowitz 32,500
27 Johan Schumacher 27,500
28 James Calderaro 26,400
29 Alex Foxen 26,200
30 Patrick Eskandar 25,400
31 Nadya Magnus 21,800
32 Shayna Bott 18,900
33 Ryan Tosoc 7,100