Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Soheb Porbandarwala Wins 2018 WSOP Circuit Harrah's Atlantic City

27-year-Old Poker Pro Defeats Field of 306 Entries To Win $107,862 and Second Gold Ring


Soheb Porbandarwala has won the 2018 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s Atlantic City $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event, defeating a field of 306 total entries to win $107,862 and his second WSOPC gold ring.

“I really don’t play tournaments that much. I play mostly cash online, but I love tournaments. It’s like my old love,” Porbandarwala told WSOP reporters. “It’s really nice to win a main event because it’s getting to the Global Championship the short way.”

The 27-year-old Norwalk, Connecticut resident came into the final day of this tournament holding a chip lead over three-time gold ring winner Peter Vitantonio going into heads-up play. Porbandarwala held 3.4 million in chips to Vitantonio’s 2.7 million.

“I wanted to play it out last night, but I’m glad we didn’t because it took so long, so it ended up being a good thing,” said Porbandarwala.

The two battled back and forth over the span of a few hours. By the time the final hand arose Porbandarwala held nearly a 3-to-1 lead. Vitantonio limped in from the button and Porbandarwala checked. The flop brought the JSpade Suit9Spade Suit3Heart Suit and Porbandarwala checked. Vitantonio bet 80,000 and Porbandarwala raised to 250,000. Vitantonio moved all in for approximately 1,400,000 and Porbandarwala made the call with the JClub Suit5Heart Suit. Vitantonio held the QSpade Suit10Club Suitfor an open-ended straight draw. The turn brought the 4Heart Suit and the river the 7Club Suit, securing the pot and the title for Porbandarwala.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Soheb Porbandarwala $107,862 480
2 Peter Vitantonio $66,693 400
3 Jason Maeroff $48,438 320
4 Matthew Glantz $35,779 240
5 Scott Sisler $26,861 200
6 Billy Cashwell $20,485 160
7 Jeffrey Miller $15,868 120
8 Kevin Grabel $12,476 80
9 Daniel Monosson $9,956 40