Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Oleksandr Shcherbak Wins 2017 World Series of Poker Europe Monster Stack

Ukrainian Defeats Field of 561 Entries To Win First Ever Gold Bracelet Awarded In Czech Republic


Oleksandr Shcherbak has won the first ever World Series of Poker gold bracelet awarded in the Czech Republic. The 29-year-old Ukrainian poker pro outlasted a field of 561 total entries to win the 2017 WSOP Europe €1,100 no-limit hold’em Monster Stack event, the first tournament of the WSOPE’s premiere run at the King’s Casino in Rozvadov. For the win Shcherbak secured his first bracelet and the top prize of €117,708 ($137,718 USD).

This was Shcherbak’s second career live tournament cash and his very first in a WSOP event. He is only the third player ever from Ukraine to win a WSOP title.

Shcherbak came into the final day of the event in seventh chip position with 13 players remaining. Among those who joined him on the final day were 2015 WSOP main event seventh-place finisher Pierre Neuville (11th – $6,945 USD), 11-time WSOP final tablist Ismael Bojang (8th – $11,623 USD) and Italian rising star Walter Treccarichi (5th – $29,001 USD).

Shcherbak eliminated five opponents en route to setting the final showdown with Viliyan Petleshkov. Shcherbak held roughly a 6-to-5 advantage at the start of heads-up action. He quickly extended that lead, only to have Petleshkov mount a quick, if short-lived, comeback. Shcherbak was able to regain control and extend his lead to nearly 2-to-1 by the time the final hand arose.

The two players got all-in preflop with Petleshkov holding the AHeart SuitQSpade Suit against Shcherbak’s 7Spade Suit7Heart Suit. The board ran out JClub Suit8Diamond Suit2Heart Suit7Club Suit3Spade Suit and Shcherbak hit a set of sevens to secure the pot and the title, sending Petleshkov to the rail as the runner-up with €72,747 ($85,114 USD).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Oleksandr Shcherbak $137,718 840
2 Viliyan Petleshkov $85,114 700
3 Sergio Fernandez $58,417 560
4 Carlo Savinelli $40,828 420
5 Walter Treccarichi $29,001 350
6 Peter Bstieler $20,990 280
7 Serge Danis $15,473 210
8 Ismael Bojang $11,623 140
9 Ahmad Sameeian $8,898 70