Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Dylan Wilkerson Wins WSOP Circuit Bicycle Casino Main Event

Poker Pro Tops 705-Entry Field To Win $216,790


Dylan Wilkerson has won the 2017 World Series of Poker Circuit main event at the Bicycle Hotel & Casino, defeating a field of 705 entries in the $1,675 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament to win his first gold ring and the $216,790 top prize.

“Winning always feels great, regardless of how big. And this was pretty big. So yeah, it’s really good,” said Wilkerson.

Coming into the final day Wilkerson was in eighth chip position with 12 players remaining, and there were a number of top opponents still left to contend with including 2011 WSOP main event champion Carlos Mortensen, WSOP Circuit ring holder Matt Stout and 2010 European Poker Tour Villamoura champion Toby Lewis.

Wilkerson sent Mortensen to the rail in eighth place when his AHeart Suit9Diamond Suit outran the Hall of Famer’s AClub SuitJClub Suit. Mortensen earned $25,550 for his impressive run. Stout was eliminated in fifth place after his pocket kings also failed to hold up, this time against the ADiamond Suit9Club Suit of Douglas Jefferson. Stout added $55,150
to his career earnings, bringing his lifetime total to more than $3.5 million.

Britain’s Toby Lewis scored the next two knockouts, setting up a final heads-up showdown against Wilkerson. Lewis began with 8,125,000 to Wilkerson’s 6,020,000. Wilkerson was able to get off to a strong start and quickly overtake the lead. It didn’t take long for the final hand of the tournament to arise.

With blinds of 80,000 – 160,000 and an ante of 20,000 Wilkerson raised to 350,000 from the button. Lewis called and the flop brought the QClub Suit8Diamond Suit6Club Suit. Both players checked and the turn brought the 2Spade Suit. Lewis bet 550,000 and Wilkerson made the call. The river completed the board with the 4Heart Suit and Lewis bet 1,450,000. Wilkerson announced that he was all in and Lewis made the call.

Wilkerson had turned a set of deuces with the 2Heart Suit2Diamond Suit, and Lewis had rivered two pair with the 6Spade Suit4Club Suit. Just like that, it was all over. Lewis was sent to the rail as the runner-up, earning $134,145.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dylan Wilkerson $216,790 912
2 Toby Lewis $134,145 760
3 Douglas Jefferson $98,390 608
4 Lance Allred $73,170 456
5 Matt Stout $55,150 380
6 Chang Lin $42,120 304
7 Frank Lin $32,250 228
8 Carlos Mortensen $25,550 152
9 Levon Khachatryan $20,285 76