Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Brunson, Mortensen Selected For Poker Hall Of Fame

Poker Pros To Join Elite Group Of Game's Legends


The World Series of Poker announced Thursday that Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen will be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year.

The legendary players are to become the 51st and 52nd individuals in the Poker Hall of Fame.

The public voted to get a list of 10 finalists, and then a 44-person panel made up of living Poker Hall of Famers and media members voted to determine the two inductees.

The induction ceremony will happen Wednesday, Oct. 26 at 7:00 p.m. PST at Binion’s Gambling Hall in Downtown Las Vegas. The casino held the WSOP from 1970 to 2004. The two will also be honored prior to the start of the 2016 main event final table on Oct. 30.

The other finalists this year were Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David Ulliott.

All are eligible for consideration again.

“It’s a true honor to be inducted by my peers into this prestigious institution,” Brunson, 47, said. “I literally grew up attending these ceremonies and have always respected and admired its members. To join their ranks is the honor of a lifetime.”

Brunson has about $4.5 million in tournament winnings, including 52 WSOP cashes and a gold bracelet, but he is better known for his cash game success. The son of Poker Hall of Famer Doyle Brunson, Todd has won millions in cash games throughout the years.

“I have been playing poker professionally for more than 20 years,” Mortensen said. “This game has given me so many things that I have come to cherish. I’ve always wanted to be included among the great players who make up the Poker Hall of Fame. To be included with the legends makes me very happy.”

Mortensen, 44, won the 2001 main event and has won more money on the World Poker Tour than any other player. He has lifetime earnings of nearly $12 million.

Here’s a look at previous inductees:

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015


almost 6 years ago

Mortensen - No problem

Brunson - Really? The poker HOF was sort of a joke already, but this makes it completely irrelevant to me. Also to even consider a player like Eli Elezra is blasphemy! Are they going to let in every broke fish, scumbag, degenerate gambler just because they were on TV a lot during the poker boom? Ever heard of right place, right time?

The poker scene depresses me more and more every day.......


almost 6 years ago

Todd Brunson PHOF? LOL. NO way, just only one insignificant bracelet and he's inducted into PHOF. So, Who is Next?

Perhaps, David Moon, .... Jamie Gold or may be Jerry Yang. LMAO.