Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Sean H. Yu Wins 2016 WSOP Circuit Planet Hollywood Main Event

41-Year-Old Defeats Eli Elezra Heads-Up To Win Second WSOPC Ring


Sean H. Yu has won the 2016 World Series of Poker Circuit Planet Hollywood $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event, defeating a field of 528 total entries to win his second WSOPC gold ring and the $170,286 first-place prize. The former poker pro has recently returned to a career in sales, but that didn’t stop him from outlasting a stacked final table to earn the second largest tournament score ever.

“It feels amazing,” Yu told after the win. “They run such a great Circuit event here. I’ve been coming out every year and wasn’t successful, but this year, when I started Day 1A, I got crippled down to 3,000 chips and bagged an average stack. Day 2, I bagged up pretty short and was like second from the bottom today. But it just felt like destiny at some point.”

Yu came into the final day in eighth chip position with nine players remaining. He had plenty of tough competition to deal with, including Jake Schindler (6th – $32,710) and Kevin Calenzo (5th – $42,879), but was able to mount a comeback to make it to heads-up play against three-time WSOP bracelet winner Eli Elezra nearly even in chips. Less than ten minutes into the final showdown Yu had taken the lead.

The two went back and forth, but by the time the final hand arose Yu held a sizable advantage of more than 4-to-1. With blinds of 60,000 – 120,000 and an ante of 20,000 Elezra moved all-in for 1.5 million from the button. Yu called from the big blind with the ADiamond Suit4Diamond Suit and was ahead of Elezra’s KHeart Suit6Spade Suit. The board ran out ASpade SuitQSpade Suit5Spade Suit3Diamond Suit5Club Suit to earn Yu the pot and the title, sending Elezra to the rail in second place with $105,281.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Sean H. Yu $170,286 840
2 Eli Elezra $105,281 700
3 Daniel Needleman $76,911 560
4 Arianna Son $57,016 420
5 Kevin Calenzo $42,879 350
6 Jake Schindler $32,710 280
7 Brandon West $25,304 210
8 Keith Doering $19,855 140
9 Colin York $15,800 70

Winner photo courtesy of WSOP.