Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Pratyush Buddiga Wins 2016 EPT Barcelona €25,000 High Roller

American Poker Pro Tops Field of 165 To Win €690,725 After Making Three-Way Deal


Pratyush Buddiga has won the latest high roller on the international tournament circuit, coming out on top of a 165-entry field to capture the 2016 European Poker Tour Barcelona €25,000 single day no-limit hold’em high roller. For the win the American poker pro earned €690,725 ($780,011 USD) and 1,092 Card Player Player of the Year points.

Buddiga came into the final table of nine in third chip position, with plenty of tough opponents remaining including Alex Komaromi (6th – $244,363), Steve O’Dwyer (5th – $315,157) and Tobias Reinkemeier (4th – $392,845).

With the elimination of Reinkemeier the final three paused the clock to discuss a deal. The eventually agreed to a chop based on the ICM numbers. Here is a look at their chip counts and the final payouts they agreed to.

Player Chip Count Earnings (USD)
David Yan 6,590,000 $796,373
Pratyush Buddiga 6,110,000 $780,011
Andrey Shatilov 3,855,000 $684,803

From that point on the final three agreed to all move all-in preflop every hand until a winner is decided. Buddiga won the first flip with his 8Spade Suit5Spade Suit besting Shatilov’s 6Heart Suit5Heart Suit and Yan’s KSpade SuitJDiamond Suit. The board ran out ASpade SuitJHeart Suit9Spade Suit9Club Suit6Spade Suit to give Buddiga a flush, eliminating Shatilov and leaving Yan with only a few big blinds. On the next hand Buddiga flopped trip nines and left Yan needing running cards to survive. They never materialized and he was eliminated in second place.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Pratyush Buddiga $780,011 1092
2 David Yan $796,373 910
3 Andrey Shatilov $684,803 728
4 Tobias Reinkemeier $392,845 546
5 Steve O’Dwyer $315,157 455
6 Alex Komaromi $244,363 364
7 Parker Talbot $180,890 273
8 Sergey Lebedev $132,933 182
9 Dmitry Yurasov $105,983 55

Winner photo courtesy of PokerStars.