Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Jason Koon Wins 2016 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open $5 Million Guaranteed Championship Event

Poker Pro Wins His Largest Title and $1,000,000 After Defeating 847-Entry Field


Jason Koon has won the 2016 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open $5,250 buy-in no-limit hold’em $5 million guaranteed championship event, outlasting a field of 847 entries to win his largest career title and the $1,000,000 first-place prize. Koon now has over $5.2 million in lifetime live tournaments earning.

In addition to the seven-figure payday Koon was awarded 1,824 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was Koon’s second final table finish of the year, with his other score being a title run in a $25,000 high roller at Bellagio this summer. He now sits in 36th place with 2,328 points and $1,514,080 in year-to-date earnings.

Koon entered the final table in third chip position behind Thomas Midena and Paul Balzano. Koon knocked out Zo Karim in ninth place ($75,000) to overtake the chip lead. He next picked up KHeart SuitKClub Suit against Balzano’s QDiamond SuitQClub Suit to send him to the rail in seventh place ($125,000). He continued his run of knockouts by eliminating Joe Serock in sixth place ($150,000) to increase his stack to nearly half of the chips in play with five remaining.

Seth Davies eliminated Roman Valerstein (4th – $220,000) to close the gap a bit, but shortly after Koon knocked out Tim Burt (3rd – $310,000) to take a 3-to-2 lead into the heads-up showdown.

Koon got off the a quick start and was able to extend his lead before Davies found a double up to get back to only a 2-to-1 chip disadvantage. On the very next hand Koon raised to 900,000 on the button with the blinds at 200,000 – 400,000 with an ante of 50,000. Davies three-bet all in for around 7.5 million chips and Koon made the call with the ADiamond Suit8Diamond Suit. He was ahead of Davies’ QClub SuitJHeart Suit and took a commanding lead when the flop brought the ASpade Suit7Spade Suit3Club Suit. The 3Heart Suit on the turn left Davies drawing dead and the 8Club Suit was a mere formality as Koon secured the pot and the title with his pair of aces. Davies earned $575,000 as the runner up.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Jason Koon $1,000,000 1,824
2 Seth Davies $575,000 1,520
3 Timothy Burt $310,000 1,216
4 Roman Valerstein $220,000 912
5 Thomas Midena $180,000 760
6 Joseph Serock $150,000 608
7 Paul Balzano $125,000 456
8 Ryan Fair $100,000 304
9 Zohair Karim $75,000 152

Winner photo courtesy of SHRPO blog.