Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

David Peters Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Event

Peters Earns First Career Bracelet, Moves Into First Place In Card Player POY Race


The $412,557 first-place prize that David Peters won in a $1,500 no-limit hold’em event at the 2016 World Series of Poker is undoubtedly substantial, but it doesn’t even crack his top three scores of this year.

Peters, a 29-year-old poker pro, is closing in on $12 million in lifetime live tournament earnings, but it was the WSOP bracelet that was noticeably absent from his poker resume. On Tuesday night, the Toledo, Ohio native officially crossed his name off the best players without a bracelet list by outlasting a field of 1,860 entrants. The win came on the 38th WSOP cash of his career.

“I was definitely surprised it took me as long as it did (to win),” Peters said. “There were a lot of close calls. I came in almost every place at the final table, except first. I knew it was coming, so it definitely feels amazing to get it.”

Peters has been dominating the live tournament circuit since 2007 and has remained remarkably consistent. He’s earned at least $350,000 every year, but the last two years have been especially profitable. In 2015, he won more than $2.9 million and so far this year, he’s earned more than $4.8 million. As a result of this victory, and the 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points he earned, Peters is now in first place in the rankings.

The final table also featured Matt Affleck (3rd) and Kilian Kramer (8th). Other notables who made deep runs in this event included Ivan Luca (11th), Faraz Jaka (12th), Adrien Allain (15th), Ben Zamani (17th), Assani Fisher (22nd), Nipun Java (31st) and Nam Le (33rd).

Ryan Laplante, who now has 11 cashes and has tied the record for most cashes in one summer, finished in 102nd place.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout POY Points
1 David Peters $412,557 1,080
2 Cathal Shine $254,890 900
3 Matt Affleck $184,456 720
4 Muhammad Rahim $134,845 540
5 Zachary Okin $99,592 450
6 Brendan Sheehan $74,321 360
7 Takuya Suzuki $56,044 270
8 Kilian Kramer $42,711 180
9 David Patterson $32,900 90

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.