Win A $1,000 Tournament Ticket To The Event Of Your Choice!

Nomination Process Begins For The Poker Hall Of Fame's Class Of 2016

WSOP Asks People To Submit Their Nominee


The WSOP has opened the nomination period for the Poker Hall of Fame’s class of 2016.

Poker fans and players can vote here. People are encouraged to participate by submitting their nominee along with a brief explanation.

Submissions will be tabulated and the top 10 nominations will be reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. Living Poker Hall of Fame members and a blue ribbon media panel will then cast votes on the final list of nominees to determine the class of 2016. The enshrinement ceremony will take place this fall as part of the main event final table festivities.

The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually.

There are currently 50 members of the Poker Hall of Fame.

One must be at least 40 years old to be inducted. The other main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are that the player must have “played poker against acknowledged top competition” and “for high stakes,” while playing “consistently well” and “gaining the respect of peers.” The player must have lasted in the poker world too, as another standard is that they “stood the test of time.” For those who weren’t poker pros, they must have “contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.”

Last year’s finalists were Max Pescatori, Matt Savage, David Ulliott, Chris Bjorin, Bruno Fitoussi, Jennifer Harman, David Chiu, John Juanda, Carlos Mortensen and Terry Rogers.

Juanda and Harman were chosen. The year prior, Daniel Negreanu and tournament director Jack McClelland were inducted.

It’s worth noting that 10-time WSOP bracelet winner Phil Ivey turned 40 in February.

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004.

Here’s a look at all of the members.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015