Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

2016 Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Andjelko Andrejevic Climbs To 30th Place With WPT Amsterdam Win

Aaron Massey Also Made A Move By Taking Down The MSPT FireKeepers Main Event This Week


The poker world is gearning up for the onslaught that is the World Series of Poker that is now just weeks away. In the lead up to the series there have been plenty of big events taking place that have impacted the standings in the 2016 Card Player Player of the Year race. Here is a look at the biggest results of the week:

2016 World Poker Tour Amsterdam Main Event

Andjelko AndrejevicAndjelko Andrejevic has won the 2016 World Poker Tour Amsterdam €3,300 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event, defeating a field of 318 entries to win his first WPT title and the top prize of €200,000 ($228,000 USD).

The Serbian-American poker pro has had a number of deep runs in WPT events in the past few years, finishing seventh in the 2015 WPT Borgata Poker Open main event, third in the 2015 WPT Maryland Live! main event and fourth in the 2016 WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star main event earlier this year for $331,500 and 912 POY points. This time around he emerged victorious, topping a tough final table that included the likes of reigning Card Player Player of the Year and three-time WPT champion Anthony Zinno (3rd – $103,124) and a couple of tough international poker pros in Joep van den Bijgaart (7th – $38,256) and Felipe Ramos (8th – $30,666).

In addition to the title and the money Andrejevic also earned another 720 POY points for the win. With 1,632 total points and $559,500 in year-to-date earnings Andrejevic now sits in 30th place in the overall POY standings.

Zinno, who was at his third final table of 2016, now occupies the 59th-place spot on the Player of the Year leaderboard as he looks to become the first player ever to win back-to-back Card Player Player of the Year awards. Last year he won five titles and made 11 final tables,cashing for over $3.4 million along the way.

2016 MSPT FireKeepers Main Event

Aaron Massey The Mid-States Poker Tour FireKeepers $1,100 no-limit hold’em main event drew an 820-entry field, blowing away the $300,000 guarantee in the process. In the end the last player standing was Aaron Massey. For the win the Chicago-area native earned the top prize of $174,658 and 912 POY points.

This was Massey’s third final table finish and first title of 2016. He had previously finished sixth in a $2,200 no-limit hold’em preliminary event at the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown for $16,999 and 112 points. He also finished seventh in the Lucky Hearts Poker Open $2,650 buy-in event for $20,000 and another 126 points.

With 1,150 points earned so far and year-to-date earnings of $211,657 Massey has taken over 69th place on the POY leaderboard.

Here is a look at the current top twenty in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Ari Engel 3,070 $1,208,478
2 Chance Kornuth 2,926 $1,608,105
3 David Peters 2,561 $3,897,415
4 Anthony Gregg 2,546 $983,175
5 Dietrich Fast 2,498 $1,065,949
6 Bryn Kenney 2,474 $2,758,431
7 Steve O’Dwyer 2,454 $2,856,705
8 Igor Kurganov 2,334 $1,499,145
9 Tony Dunst 2,260 $742,479
10 Bryan Piccioli 2,216 $740,345
11 Sam Soverel 2,180 $872,997
12 Ivan Luca 2,166 $1,125,277
13 Stefan Schillhabel 1,968 $1,310,659
14 Tom Marchese 1,925 $1,183,278
15 Jan Bendik 1,920 $1,097,077
16 Jason Wheeler 1,896 $475,431
17 Joseph Mckeehen 1,892 $1,694,493
18 Walter Treccarichi 1,872 $314,094
18 Connor Drinan 1,872 $2,038,127
20 Mike Leah 1,848 $279,651