Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Stefan Schillhabel Wins 2016 World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star Main Event

German Tops Record Field of 753 Entries To Win $1,298,000


The World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star $75,500 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event drew a record field of 753 entries in 2016, creating a $5,346,300 prize pool. In the end the lion’s share of that was awarded to Stefan Schillhabel. The student from Dueseldorf, Germany was awarded $1,298,000 and his very first major poker tournament title after outlasting the huge field and a stacked final table.

For the win Schillhabel was also awarded 1,824 Card Player Player of the Year points, enough to move him into ninth place in the overall standings.

Schillhabel came into the televised final table of six players with the chip lead, but had the likes of Mario Ho (6th – $179,930), 2015 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown main event champion Griffin Paul (5th – $231,310) and Andjelko Andrejevic (4th – $331,500). Ho was the last ‘Shooting Star’ bounty left in the event. Had she come out on top she would have become the first female WPT champion in an open main event.

American poker pro Adam Geyer did much of the eliminating at the final table, taking out the first three players at the final table to wrest the lead from Schillhabel. By the time the German busted Bryan Piccioli in third place the two had nearly identical stacks.

The final heads-up battle lasted nearly three hours. Schillhabel was able to pull away over the 53-hand showdown and by the time the final hand was dealt he had nearly a 10-to-1 chip advantage.

With blinds of 150,000 – 300,000 and antes of 50,000 Geyer moved all-in from the button for 1,850,000. Schillhabel thought it over before making the call with the 8Spade Suit7Diamond Suit. Geyer was in the lead with the KDiamond Suit9Spade Suit and even improved after a KSpade Suit10Club Suit3Club Suit flop. The 8Heart Suit on the turn paired Schillhabel though, giving him outs heading into the river. The 8Club Suit improved the German to three of a kind, securing him the pot and the title. Geyer earned $752,800 for his second-place finish, the largest score of his career.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Stefan Schillhabel $1,298,000 1824
2 Adam Geyer $752,800 1,520
3 Bryan Piccioli $493,350 1,216
4 Andjelko Andrejevic $331,500 912
5 Griffin Paul $231,310 760
6 Maria Ho $179,930 608
7 Anthony Gregg $138,720 456
8 Connor Drinan $102,760 304
9 Jim Collopy $72,000 152

Winner photo courtesy of World Poker Tour / Joe Giron.