Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

Preview Of The 2016 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic Main Event

The $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em Event Runs Feb. 27th - Mar. 3rd


The Commerce Casino is home to the largest poker room in the world, with 160 tables ready for top flight poker action all day every day. From beginner-friendly low-stakes games to some of the biggest cash games in the world, there is something for everyone at The Commerce.

In addition to it’s cash game offerings The Commerce Casino has also built a reputation as a top tournament destination, with a number of series on offer throughout the year. The centerpiece of their yearly tournament slate is of course the legendary L.A. Poker Classic festival, which this year features 56 events spread from Jan. 15th through Mar. 3rd.

The highlight of the whole festival is of course the World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic $10,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event, which kicks off at noon on Saturday, Feb. 27th. Players will start with 30,000 in chips with blinds beginning at 50 – 100.

Registration will stay open until the start of the 10th level, with the tournament playing nine-handed. The first 8 Levels will last 60 minutes, increasing to 90 minutes each level on days 2 through 4. On Day 5 levels will last 120 minutes until a final table of six is decided. Final Table levels will be 60 minutes long until they shorten to 30 minutes for the final heads-up battle. Redraws will happen at the end of each day and also when the field reaches the following milestones: 27 remaining, 18 remaining, and 10 players remaining.

2015 champ Anthony ZinnoThis will be the 14th running of the WPT LAPC main event, with this event being one of the original tournaments on the tour. Over the years some of poker’s biggest names have emerged as LAPC champions, including 2003 champion Gus Hansen ($532,490), 2004 champ Antonio Esfandiari ($1,399,135), 2005 champ Michael Mizrachi ($1,859,909), 2008 champ Phil Ivey ($1,596,100) and 2014 winner Chris Moorman ($1,015,460).

Last year Anthony Zinno topped a huge field of 538 players to win his third WPT main event title and the first-place prize of $1,015,860. The 2,100 Card Player Player of the Year points he earned from this win also helped propel him to winning that prestigious award at year’s end.