Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

David Ormsby Wins 2016 World Poker Tour Fallsview Poker Classic

26-Year-Old From Ottawa Tops Field Of 423 Entries To Win $278,537


David Ormsby has won the 2016 World Poker Tour Fallsview Poker Classic $5,000 CAD buy-in no-limit hold’em main event.

The 26-year-old poker pro based out of Ottawa, Ontario outlasted a total field of 423 entrants to capture his first WPT title, the $278,537 CAD ($278,537 USD) first-place prize and 1,440 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was Ormsby’s first final table of the year, but it was enough to move him into a tie for tenth place in the overall standings on it’s own, joining WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open champ Christopher Leong.

Robert Forbes came into the final table with the chip lead and dominated his way to a heads-up battle with Ormsby, knocking out 2006 champion of this event Soren Turkeswitch in fifth place along the way. When the final showdown began Forbes held roughly a 3-to-1 chip advantage over Ormsby, but the young Canadian was able to battle back and eventually extend a lead of his own.

In the final hand Ormsby limped in from the button with the blinds at 100,0000 – 200,000 with an ante of 25,000. Forbes moved all in from the big blind for 2,925,000 and Ormsby called with the KDiamond SuitJDiamond Suit. He was flipping against Forbes’ 3Diamond Suit3Club Suit. The board ran out ADiamond SuitKHeart Suit4Spade Suit7Club Suit6Spade Suit to pair Ormsby’s king, earning him the pot and the title.

Forbes scored $268,773 CAD ($195,267 USD) for his runner-up showing in addition to 1,200 POY points, enough to move him into a tie for 20th place on the leader board.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 David Ormsby $278,537 1440
2 Robert Forbes $195,267 1200
3 Derek Verrian $125,553 960
4 Thinh Bui $92,840 720
5 Soren Turkewitsch $69,699 600
6 Thomas Archer $55,843 480
7 Patrick Blye $46,565 360
8 Kyle Chang $37,140 240
9 Jordan Saccucci $27,856 120