Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Dzmitry Urbanovich Wins European Poker Tour Dublin Main Event

20-Year-Old Pro Adds €561,900 To Poker Resume


Dzmitry UrbanovichAlthough he is only 20 years old, Dzmitry Urbanovich has already cemented himself as one of the top players on the international tournament circuit. On Saturday, the Polish poker pro added another $632,279 to his lifetime earnings for winning the European Poker Tour Dublin main event, bringing his total live winnings to nearly $4.2 million. That figure makes him Poland’s top poker winner ever, by nearly double his closest opponent, Dominik Panka.

Urbanovich, who will be eligible to play in the United States for the WSOP when he turns 21 this summer, topped a record field for the title. It was his tenth tournament win overall. His biggest score was in 2015 when he finished runner up in the €100,000 buy-in super high roller at the EPT Grand Final in Monte Carlo for $1,616,027.

As a result of the victory, Urbanovich earned 1,680 Card Player Player of the Year points, moving him into eighth place overall. He finished tenth in the rankings in 2015. If he manages to win three bracelets this summer, he’ll also take home an additional $2 million in side bets from Vanessa Selbst.

In order to secure the win, Urbanovich had to endure a three-hour heads-up battle with German student Gilles Bernies. The 605-player field created a total prize pool of €2,934,250. The final 87 players made the money, including notables such as Christoph Vogelsang (84th), David Vamplew (82nd), Liv Boeree (74th), Fabrice Soulier (71st), Andrew Chen (68th), Anthony Zinno (62nd), Mike McDonald (60th), Gaelle Baumann (55th), Timothy Adams (51st), Nick Petrangelo (40th), Pierre Neuville (34th), Anton Wigg (31st), Dominik Panka (29th), Luca Pagano (17th) and Adrian Mateos (10th).

Here are the final table results.

Place Player Winnings Euro Winnings USD POY Points
1 Dzmitry Urbanovich € 561,900 $632,279 1,680
2 Gilles Bernies € 349,800 $393,613 1,400
3 Kully Sidhu € 250,300 $281,651 1,120
4 Patrick Clarke € 193,650 $217,905 840
5 Iliodoros Kamatakis € 152,600 $171,713 700
6 Rhys Jones € 119,450 $134,411 560
7 Alexandre Meylan € 88,300 $99,360 420
8 Ivan Banic € 60,750 $68,359 280

*Photo courtesy of PokerStars.