Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Series Of Poker Main Event: McKeehen's Stack At Shorthanded Play One Of The Best In History

Poker Pro Has 47.5 Percent Of Chips On Table


After the first day of the 2015 World Series of Poker main event final table, poker pro Joe McKeehen picked up right were he left off in July and had built his chip stack to more than 90 million when the table became shorthanded.

He entered the final table with 32.76 percent of the chips in play, and with six left he had 47.5 percent of them. It’s a huge chip lead, but it’s actually not the best in the last decade of WSOP main event final tables.

In 2007, Jerry Yang went from the second shortest stack when play began to having more than 49 percent of the chips when just six were still in contention. As we all know, Yang continued his domination of the table and went on to win the tournament.

Jamie Gold’s magical run in 2006, when he began the final table with 32.66 percent of the chips in play, wasn’t quite as dominating as McKeehen’s during the early stages of the final table. Gold had accumulated 41.1 percent of the chips by shorthanded play.

Both the 2006 and 2007 main events were before the November Nine era, so McKeehen’s dominating chip lead at this point in the tournament is by far best since the months-long wait before the final table was instituted. McKeehen demonstrated he was in top poker form late last month when he won the Wynn Fall Poker Classic main event.

Since 2005, the chip leader after a player was eliminated in seventh has won the tournament half the time. Given McKeehen’s poker skills, it’s pretty unlikely he’ll finish outside the top two, but anything can still happen. His stack is huge, but 152 big blinds isn’t invulnerable.

Here’s a look at the past decade of chip leaders when play became shorthanded, their percentage of the chips in play and their finish.

Year Player Name Chips Percentage Result
2015 Joe McKeehen 91.45 million 47.5% TBD
2014 Jorryt van Hoof 75.275 million 37.5% 3rd
2013 Ryan Riess 55.8 million 29.3% 1st
2012 Greg Merson 44.875 million 22.7% 1st
2011 Pius Heinz 52.5 million 25.5% 1st
2010 Michael Mizrachi 65.4 million 29.8% 5th
2009 Eric Buchman 55.5 million 28.5% 4th
2008 Ivan Demidov 39.075 million 28.7% 2nd
2007 Jerry Yang 62.49 million 49% 1st
2006 Jamie Gold 38 million 41.1% 1st
2005 Andrew Black 18.2 million 31.9% 5th