Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

John Juanda, Jennifer Harman To Be Inducted Into Poker Hall Of Fame

Legendary Poker Pros Beat Out 8 Other Elite Finalists


The World Series of Poker has announced that poker pros John Juanda and Jennifer Harman will be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame next month.

The two beat out Max Pescatori, Matt Savage, David Ulliott, Chris Bjorin, Bruno Fitoussi, David Chiu, Carlos Mortensen and Terry Rogers, who were all nominated. Each year there are 10 finalists and two of them are inducted. Juanda and Harman will be the 49th and 50th members of the Poker Hall of Fame.

The list of names was submitted to the 23 living Poker Hall of Fame members and a 16-person media panel. Those were the only people to cast votes for induction.

Though all the finalists were deserving, Juanda, and especially Harman, were overdue.

Juanda is one of the most accomplished tournament players in the history of the game. The poker pro has more than $16.5 million in lifetime tournament scores, with more than 30 titles, five of which have come at the World Series of Poker. At the WSOP, Juanda has nearly $5 million in winnings, thanks to 32 final tables. He won the WSOPE main event in 2008 for his fourth bracelet and three years later captured no. 5 in Las Vegas.

Just weeks ago, Juanda was the last man standing out of a field of 1,694 in the European Poker Tour Barcelona stop. Juanda captured $1,186,208 for the win. The prize money put him into the top 10 on the all-time tournament money list.

Since his poker career began in the late 1990s, Juanda has had seven years with more than $1 million in tournament scores. Juanda is a World Poker Tour title away from poker’s “triple crown,” and he could get it during his lifetime. He has six final tables in WPT championship events over his career.

The 44-year-old was born in Indonesia but calls California home.

“I appreciate the recognition,” Juanda said. “It’s an honor to see my name among so many players I have admired and respected throughout my career: Chip Reese, Erik Seidel, Dan Harrington, Daniel Negreanu. Thank you to all the fans who nominated me and to the HOF and media members who voted me in.”

Harman is a cash-game legend and has seen her name on the nominees list a handful of times. The 50-year-old has nearly $2.5 million in tournament earnings. She has two career bracelets and two WPT final tables on her resume.

Her first bracelet came in 2000 and her second was in 2002. She has 32 lifetime cashes at the WSOP, 12 of which were final tables.

She was a member of the group of poker professionals who banded together in order to play banker Andy Beal heads up for millions of dollars. Harman was born in Reno, Nevada, where she grew up playing cards.

"Poker is a solo sport, Harman told Card Player in August. “You basically have to pat yourself on the back and even when you are losing you have to pat yourself on the back if you think you played well. I think getting into the Hall of Fame means that your peers respect what you have done with your life and career. That’s really important.”

“It’s truly an honor to be selected into the PHOF,” Harman added in a statement. “Poker has been an unbelievable journey for me and to have the respect of my peers is truly amazing. I want to thank everyone for the amazing support. I’m so happy!”

The 2015 Poker Hall of Fame class will be inducted as part of the WSOP main event final table festivities in Las Vegas during a special dinner and induction to be held at Binion’s Gambling Hall on Friday, Nov. 6 at 7:00 p.m. The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the WSOP in 2004.

Here’s a look at all of the members.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014



over 6 years ago

i remember when everyone wanted Dwan to get in the HOF. The WSOP really needs him to play along with Ivey. We know they dont care, im sure each buy in is like a $5 dollar game to them, but would be nice to fake it for the summer


over 6 years ago

Dwan is busto btw, $5 is $5 to him right now......