Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Dietrich Fast Wins 2015 World Series of Poker Europe Oktoberfest Event

German Tops 2,144-Entry Field To Win First Gold Bracelet and €157,749


His name may be Fast, but it was hardly a short road to victory for Germany’s Dietrich Fast in the 2015 World Series of Poker Europe €550 no-limit hold’em Oktoberfest event. A total of 2,144 entries were made in this huge tournament which began four days ago. The final table lasted roughly 12 hours, with a final heads-up showdown of over 4 hours.

But in the end Fast did emerge victorious, taking home €157,749 ($179,077 USD) and his first WSOP gold bracelet for the win. He was also awarded 540 Card Player Player of the Year points.

Fast not only had to outlast a huge field but also defeat a tough final table that featured the likes of Steve O’Dwyer (5th – €43,409) and two-time WSOP gold bracelet winner John Gale (2nd – €97,804).

Gale began the day with the chip lead while Fast entered the final table in fourth chip position but well behind the three largest stacks. When heads-up play began Fast held the lead, but the two battled on for four hours and thirty minutes before the final hand arose.

Fast opened to 420,000 from the button and Gale moved all-in with the KClub Suit6Club Suit. Fast called with the ASpade SuitJClub Suit and the board ran out JHeart Suit7Heart Suit3Heart SuitJDiamond SuitQSpade Suit to secure the pot and the title for Fast.

Gale earned €97,804 and 450 POY points for his strong showing. He climbed just inside the top 100 in the overall Player of the Year standings as a result of this score, with 1,530 total points and $409,317 in year-to-date earnings.

Fifth-place finisher Steve O’Dwyer also climbed in the POY rankings with his sixth final table score. He now sits in 15th place with 2,871 points and $3,017,421 in earnings in 2015.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dietrich Fast $179,077 540
2 John Gale $111,027 450
3 Rodrigo Caprioli $83,663 360
4 Vojtech Cervinka $63,887 270
5 Steve O’Dwyer $49,278 225
6 Adrian Apmann $38,379 180
7 Sandro Wüest $30,182 135
8 Jörn Henrik Winter $23,970 90
9 Harry Lodge $19,225 45

Photo courtesy of WSOP.