Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Mustapha Kanit Wins EPT Barcelona €10,300 High Roller Event

Italian Pro Wins €738,759 For Topping 506-Player Field


Mustapha Kanit finished fourth in the 2014 Card Player Player of the Year race, and he has continued his great form in 2015, most recently with a huge win in the 2015 European Poker Tour Barcelona €10,300 no-limit hold’em high roller.

Kanit topped a sizable field of 506 players to win his second title of the year and €738,759 ($856,960 USD). In addition to the title and the money he was also awarded 2,100 POY points, enough to catapult him into ninth place in the overall standings with 3,260 points and $1,988,708 in year-to-date earnings.

Kanit came into the final day in this event in eighth chip position among the 30 remaining players. He had to outlast some tough competition, including WSOP bracelet winner and EPT Berlin champ Kevin MacPhee (8th – €108,500), 2014 Aussie Millions champion Ami Barer (6th – €206,500) and 2015 WSOP $3,000 no-limit hold’em shootout
champion Nick Petrangelo (3rd – €592,840).

Nick PetrangeloPetrangelo, Kanit and runner-up Kuljinder Sidhu ended play with a deal made following the elimination of Niklas Astedt in fourth place. Kanit held 11.6 million of the 25.5 million chips in play the the time of the deal.

Petrangelo earned 1,400 Player of the Year points for his third-place finish. This was his eighth final table finish of the year, including the aforementioned win at the WSOP. He also took down a $5,300 no-limit hold’em prelim at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure this January. All told he has garnered 4,504 points and $2,020,265 in earnings this year, enough to move him into second place in the POY standings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Mustapha Kanit $856,960 2,100
2 Kuljinder Sidhu $742,400 1,750
3 Nick Petrangelo $687,694 1,400
4 Niklas Astedt $390,572 1,050
5 Aliaksei Boika $308,096 875
6 Ami Barer $239,656 700
7 Gerald Karlic $180,496 525
8 Kevin MacPhee $125,860 350