Poker Coverage:

2015 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Nicholas Pupillo Moves Into 13th Place

Harry Tisdale, Eddie Sabat, Sheraz Nasir and Farid Yachou Win


The World Series of Poker is just weeks away, and although that will certainly be the busiest time of the year in the 2015 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by CarbonPoker, there was still plenty going on in what might be called the ‘calm before the storm’ on the tournament circuit. Here’s a look at the events that have shaken up the POY standings recently:

Heartland Poker Tour Ameristar East ChicagoNicholas Pupillo

The Heartland Poker Tour Ameristar East Chicago $1,650 no-limit hold’em main event a solid turnout of 366 entries to build a total prize pool of $524,040.

In the end the lion’s share of that money was awarded to eventual champion Nicholas Pupillo. The Addison, Illinois native earned $120,537 and 600 Player of the Year points for the win.

This was Pupillo’s fifth final-table finish and second title run this year, but he was far from finished, as he would put together another deep run in a big midwestern tournament just days later.

MSPT Battle Creek

Harry Tisdale Roughly a week after winning the Heartland Poker Tour main event Pupillo navigated his way to his sixth final table of the year in the Mid-States Poker Tour Battle Creek $1,110 no-limit hold’em main event in Michigan.

From a field of 614 entrants Pupillo finished sixth, earning $27,031 and 280 more POY points. As a result he was catapulted into a tie with Steve O’Dwyer for 13th place in the overall standings, with both players currently holding 1,840 in total points. Pupillo’s year-to-date earnings now sit at $240,417. His other title this year came in a WSOP Circuit Lumiere Place $580 buy-in prelim event.

Speaking of titles, the winner of the event was Harry Tisdale. He was awarded $142,637 and 840 points for the win, climbing to 117th place in the standings as a result.

California State Poker Championship

Eddy Sabat The Commerce Casino in Los Angeles, California saw 462 entries made in it’s 2015 California State Poker Championship $1,650 no-limit hold’em main event. As a result the tournament created a prize pool of $683,000.

In the end the last player sitting was none other than Eddy Sabat. The City of Angels local earned $129,240 and 720 POY points for the win, bringing his career tournament earnings to more than $2.6 million.

This was his second final table showing of 2015, and as a result he climbed into 144th place on the POY leader board with 792 points. His other cash this year came in a small-field prelim at the L.A. Poker Classic, also held at Commerce.

World Poker Tour Canadian Spring Championship

A total of 370 entries were made in the 2015 WPT Canadian Spring Championship $3,500 CAD ($2,900USD) no-limit hold’em main event, building a prize pool just shy of $1 million ($981,607).

Canadian local Sheraz Nasir emerged victorious from the field to earn his first major live tournament title, the $218,297 USD top prize and 900 Player of the Year points. As a result he climbed to 108th place in the POY rankings.

Nasir overcame a final table that included the likes of 2014 POY contender Dylan Wilkerson (6th – $40,573 USD) and WSOP bracelet winner Pascal LeFrancois (7th – $33,812 USD) en route to the win.

Other notables that made deep runs include Jonathan Karamalikis (10th – $14,778 USD), Jeff Gross (13th – $12,077 USD), Eric Afriat (14th – $12,077 USD), Will Molson (16th – $10,333 USD) and Ari Engel (17th – $10,333 USD).

World Poker Tour Amsterdam

Farid YachouThe World Poker Tour Amsterdam €3,300 no-limit hold’em main event attracted 341 entries to the Holland Casino to build a prize pool equivalent to $1,238,587 U.S. dollars.

Five days after the first hand was dealt only the champion remained. That player was Farid Yachou of Morrocco. For the win he earned $273,097 USD and 720 POY points.

This was Yachou’s first recorded live tournament score, and it alone was enough to propel him into a multi-way tie for 166th place in the Player of the Year standings.

Joep van den Bijgaart, who is currently ranked 16th on the Netherland’s all-time earnings list, finished fifth for $64,782.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Anthony Zinno 4,216 $1,519,144
2 Taylor Paur 2,994 $1,422,274
3 Joe Kuether 2,791 $1,307,454
4 Dzmitry Urbanovich 2,598 $2,568,415
5 Adrian Mateos Diaz 2,376 $1,276,805
6 Kevin Schulz 2,308 $1,494,177
7 Jean Montury 2,232 $817,303
8 Manny Stavropoulos 2,100 $1,270,283
9 Ivan Luca 2,037 $819,144
10 Scott Seiver 1,950 $2,368,868
11 Diego Ventura 1,900 $907,080
12 Jose Ivan Montes 1,872 $593,192
13 Steve O’Dwyer 1,840 $2,582,677
13 Nicholas Pupillo 1,840 $240,417
15 Igor Yaroshevskyy 1,830 $687,372
16 Muhyedine Fares 1,806 $776,240
17 Jose Carlos Garcia 1,775 $457,309
18 Charles Carrel 1,760 $1,437,241
19 Lennart Uphoff 1,750 $793,927
19 Mike Leah 1,750 $701,350