Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Griffin Paul Leads 2015 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown Final Table

Eventual Champion To Earn $1 Million Hollywood, Florida


The televised final table is set in the 2015 World Poker Tour Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown no-limit hold’em main event. A total of 1,476 entries were made in the $3,500 buy-in, $5 million guaranteed event, but from that sea of potential champions only six remain to battle it out for the $1,000,000 first-place prize and the title of WPT champion.

The final six will return at 4:00 PM local time tomorrow in Hollywood, FL with Griffin Paul holding the chip lead with 14,290,000. Paul’s prior best finish in a WPT event was a 32nd-place showing in the Bay 101 Shooting Star main event last month, but he is already guaranteed to triple his career tournament earnings even with a sixth place finish in this event, as he is guaranteed at least a $217,500 payday heading into Wednesday’s action.

The most accomplished player of the final six is American poker pro Joe Ebanks The Ohio native has more than $1.9 million in tournament cashes, including a win in the 2011 World Series of Poker $10,000 six-max no-limit hold’em championship for $1,158,481.

Plenty of big names survived to the last 18 but fell short of the final table, including former WPT champs Cornel Cimpan (17th – $26,500) and Mohsin Charania (15th – $39,000), as well as 2013 Card Player Poker Tout bestbet Jacksonville winner Harvey Vandeven (12th – $58,500), perennial Player of the Year contender David Peters (10th – $58,500) and bracelet winner Dan Heimiller (8th – $123,000).

Here is a look at the chip counts of the final six players:

Player Chip Count
Griffin Paul 14,290,000
Andre Crooks 10,350,000
Joe Ebanks 6,585,000
Brian Green 5,205,000
Ryan Rivers 4,170,000
Shawn Nguyen 3,615,000

Photo courtesy of WPT / Joe Giron.