Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2015 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Aussie Millions Events Make Big Impact On Top 20

A Look At The Biggest Poker Tournament Results Of The Week


The 2015 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by CarbonPoker, has now moved into it’s second month, with plenty of gigantic results recorded this week. Here is a look at the five events that made the biggest impact over the past seven days:

Aussie Millions Main Event

Manny StavropoulosThe 2015 APPT Aussie Millions $10,600 AUD no-limit hold’em main event, drew a field of 648 entries, but in the end Melbourne local Manny Stavropoulos stood alone as the champion. For the win the Australian earned his first major title and the $1,385,500 AUD first-place prize.

In addition to the money and the glory Stavropoulos also scored 2,100 Player of the Year points, enough to instantly move him into second place in the overall POY race standings.

20-year-old German Lennart Uphoff finished as the runner-up, earning $793,927 USD and 1,750 POY points and instantly shooting into fourth place on the POY leaderboard. Other notables at the final table included Brian Rast (5th – $250,087) and Richard Lyndaker (7th – $127,028).

Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge

Richard YongThe 2015 Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge super high roller no-limit hold’em event drew a huge field of 70 entries, but in the end Richard Yong emerged victorious.

The Malaysian businessman earned $1,870,000 AUD ($1,452,803 USD) and 840 points after coming out on top. As a result he now sits in 27th place in the overall POY rankings. Runner up Ole Schemion earned $1,048,815 USD and 700 POY points for his deep run, bringing his career live tournament earnings to more than $7.7 million and moving into 38th in the POY standings in the process.

Scott Seiver, who finished third for $776,900 USD, was at his third high roller final table of 2015. The American pro had previously finished eighth in the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure $100,000 super high roller and fifth in the $25,000 high roller event down in the Bahamas as well. Seiver wasn’t done making final tables down under though. (See below for more.)

Aussie Millions LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge

Phil IveyThere have only ever been five runnings of the Aussie Millions $250,000 Challenge since it first took place in 2011. Incredibly, living poker legend Phil Ivey has now won the event for the third time. Ivey took it down in 2012 and 2014, and this time around was able to top a field of 25 entries to defend his title and win $2,205,000 AUD ($1,713,285 USD.)

For the win Ivey earned 600 POY points and his third largest career cash. In fact, his top three poker tournament paydays have now all come from wins in this event, with over $7.3 million in earnings coming from his 2012, 2014 and 2015 title runs. In the process he bypassed 2014 Card Player Player of the Year Dan Colman to claim the number three spot on the all-time live earnings leaderboard with 22,778,248 in career cashes. He now sits in 50th place in the POY standings as well.

Scott Seiver finished fourth for $735,000 AUD ($571,095 USD) at his fourth final table of 2015. Seiver has cashed for $1,989,615 so far this year, and the 300 Player of the Year points he earned for this latest finish were enough to move him into fifth place in the overall POY standings with 1,610 total points. Seiver has cashed for more than $3.7 million in 2013 and 2014, and is well on his way to doing it again in 2015.

WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open

Aaron MermelsteinA total of 989 entries turned out for the 2015 World Poker Tour Borgata Winter Poker Open $3,000,000 guaranteed $3,500 no-limit hold’em main event, surpassing the guarantee by more than a quarter of a million dollars.

From that massive field of players only one could walk away the champion, and in the end it was 27-year-old Philadelphian poker pro Aaron Mermelstein that emerged victorious. For the win he earned $712,305 and his first WPT title. In addition to writing his name in the history books and earning a big payday Mermelstein was also awarded 1,368 POY points, climbing into ninth place in the standings as a result.

Runner up Eugene Todd was awarded $419,467 and 1,140 POY points for his deep run and moved into 12th in the standings as a result.

WSOP Circuit Horseshoe Tunica

JOhnny LandrethThe latest stop on the World Series of Poker Circuit took place at the Horseshoe Tunica. The $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event drew a total of 457 entrants, building a prize pool of $685,500.

The lion’s share of the money was awarded to Johnny Landreth, who came out on top to win his fourth, and by far his largest, title. For the win he earned the $147,388 first-place prize and 720 POY points.

As a result he climbed into a three-way tie for 36th place in the POY standings.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Kevin Schulz 2,280 $1,491,580
2 Manny Stavropoulos 2,100 $1,270,283
3 Diego Ventura 1,900 $907,080
4 Lennart Uphoff 1,750 $793,927
5 Scott Seiver 1,610 $1,989,615
6 Chance Kornuth 1,520 $641,140
7 Ilkin Garibli 1,512 $1,105,040
8 Joel Douaglin 1,400 $500,174
9 Aaron Mermelstein 1,368 $712,305
9 Josh Kay 1,368 $367,928
11 Joe Kuether 1,260 $1,050,000
12 Niklas Hambitzer 1,140 $482,820
12 Eugene Todd 1,140 $419,467
12 Martin Finger 1,140 $223,900
15 Pratyush Buddiga 1,130 $468,070
16 James Rann 1,050 $341,389
17 Oleksii Khoroshenin 1,008 $629,460
18 Steve O’Dwyer 1,000 $1,995,820
19 Alexander Trevallion 980 $841,239
20 Vic Spadavecchia 960 $169,850