Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


World Series Of Poker Drops $10 Million Top Prize Guarantee For 2015 Main Event

Event Will Instead Guarantee 1,000 Players Make The Money


On Tuesday, the World Series of Poker announced that the 2015 $10,000 buy-in main event will no longer guarantee a $10 million top prize, and instead will guarantee that at minimum 1,000 players will make the money—the most in the event’s history.

The move could very likely make it so that the entire final table makes at least $1 million (pre-taxes), according to the WSOP’s calculations (see below). There is no official guarantee of a seven-figure payday for ninth, but if the field size doesn’t shrink compared to 2014, then there essentially will be. The last time ninth received at least $1 million was in 2009.

Though the WSOP didn’t mention Daniel Negreanu in its press release, the changes are likely the result of the poker pro tweeting his opinions on the payout structure for the no-limit hold’em championship. Most seemed to agree with what Negreanu was calling for—and the WSOP did more or less the exact alterations to the event that the six-time bracelet winner proposed.

The WSOP agreed with the argument that a flatter payout structure, as well as allowing more people to get their money back, “will encourage both new and repeat participation,” as the WSOP phrased it. “The dream of life-changing money is core to the DNA of the WSOP main mvent and we also want to make it easier to experience playing in poker’s big show,” said WSOP Executive Director Ty Stewart. “Our players understand numbers, and 2015 now presents the best odds ever to leave the main event a winner.”

Using the 2014 main event entry number (6,683), the 2015 main event payout structure would look like the following. Obviously, the final payout structure will be determined based on 2015’s entries.

1st place: $8,000,000
2nd place: $4,663,527
3rd place: $3,500,000
4th place: $2,750,000
5th place: $2,000,000
6th place: $1,500,000
7th place: $1,250,000
8th place: $1,100,000
9th place: $1,000,000
10-12th place: $550,000
50th place: $142,500
100th place: $50,000
500th place: $20,850
693rd place: $16,750 (last year’s last paid place)
694-1,000 place: $15,000

The main event will run over 10 consecutive days from July 5-14, 2015.