Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Stephen Graner Wins 2014 European Poker Tour Prague Main Event

American Poker Pro Topped Record Field Of 1,107 To Win €969,000


The 2014 European Poker Tour Prague €5,300 no-limit hold’em main event attracted a field of 1,107 entries, the highest turnout in the event’s history. Seven days after the first card was dealt the field was narrowed down to just one player: 26-year-old American poker pro Stephen Graner. For the win Graner earned €969,000 ($1,191,870 USD) and his first EPT title.

Graner came into the final table with 12,405,000 of the 33,210,000 chips in play and was able to use this sizable stack to dominate his six opponents and emerge with the title in less than five hours. He made his way to heads-up action against Anton Bertilsson with more than a 6.5-to-1 chip advantage and only 22 hands later it was all over.

In the final hand Graner moved all-in from the button and Bertilsson called for the last of his short stack with KSpade Suit5Club Suit. Graner held the 4Heart Suit4Diamond Suit for a coin flip. The board ran out JDiamond Suit6Heart Suit3Club SuitQHeart Suit10Diamond Suit to secure the pot and the title for Graner, sending Bertilsson to the rail as the runner-up with $716,747 and 1,600 for his deep run.

In addition to the title and the money Graner also earned 1,920 Card Player Player of the Year race. This was Graner’s fourth final table finish of 2014, including a sixth-place showing in the $1,500 World Series of Poker no-limit hold’em “Millionaire Maker” for $273,854 and 440 POY points. After this most recent win Graner climbed into 21st place in the overall POY standings with 2,954 total points and $1,539,071 in year-to-date earnings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Stephen Graner $1,191,870 1920
2 Anton Bertilsson $716,747 1600
3 Jonathan Wong $504,534 1280
4 Fabio Sperling $379,061 960
5 Simon Mattsson $289,911 800
6 Bjorn Wiesler $211,978 640
7 Remi Castaignon $159,150 480
8 Miltiadis Kyriakides $113,910 320
9 Jakub Slemr $88,818 160

Winner photo courtesy of PokerStars / Neil Stoddart._