Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Steve O'Dwyer Wins 2014 Asia Championship Of Poker Super High Roller

Poker Pro Tops Field Of 52 Entries and 50 Rebuys To Win Over $1.8 Million USD


Steve O'DwyerIn recent years Macau has become the new locus of ultra high-stakes poker action, at first in cash games and increasingly in the tournament realm. The latest massive event to go down in the world’s largest gambling center was the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker $500,000 HKD ($64,500 USD) buy-in no-limit hold’em high roller held at the City of Dreams Macau.

A total of 52 entrants, who made 50 rebuys between them, built a prize pool of over $6.2 million USD. In the end Steve O’Dwyer emerged victorious, defeating a stacked final table to capture the $1,811,828 USD first-place prize and his ninth career tournament title.

O’Dwyer had to overcome a very tough final table that included the likes of Davidi Kitai (8th – $312,124 USD), 2014’s hottest tournament player, Dan Colman (7th – $373,972 USD), Joseph Cheong (5th – $528,718 USD), Connor Drinan (4th – $657,674 USD) and Pratyush Biddiga (3rd – $844,660 USD).

In the end he had to outlast Ryan Fee heads up to capture the title. O’Dwyer began with over a 2-to-1 chip lead, but by the time the final hand arose he had only a slight lead on the American pro.

The ultimate hand of the event began with Fee raising to 1.3 million from the button and O’Dwyer made the cll. The flop brought the QSpade Suit9Heart Suit7Heart Suit and O’Dwyer check-called 1.6 million from Fee. The 3Heart Suit on the turn saw O’Dwyer again check call, this time for 4 million. The 5Heart Suit drew a third consecutive check from O’Dwyer. Fee moved all-in for his last 10 million, and after going into the tank for quite a while O’Dwyer made a huge call with the QClub Suit8Heart Suit for a middling flush, which was in fact good against Fee’s 6Spade Suit5Diamond Suit.

With that O’Dwyer secured the pot and the title, sending Fee to the rail as the runner-up with $1,283,109 USD.

In addition to the prize money and the title O’Dwyer also earned 510 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was his third final table of the year, but his prior scores came in small events and he only climbed into 548th place in the rankings as a result.

Davidi Kitai earned 85 POY points for his ninth-place finish, keeping him in 18th place in the overall POY standings, with five prior final table scores and a WSOP bracelet won in 2014. Current POY race leader Dan Colman earned 128 points at his eighth final table of the year, extending his lead over second-place occupant Mike Leah. Colman has now cashed for more than $22.3 million in 2014, with eight six-figure or higher scores so far this year.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Steve O’Dwyer $1,811,828 510
2 Ryan Fee $1,283,109 425
3 Pratyush Buddiga $844,660 340
4 Connor Drinan $657,674 255
5 Joseph Cheong $528,718 213
6 Kitson Kho $438,449 170
7 Daniel Colman $373,972 128
8 Davidi Kitai $312,124 85

Photo courtesy of PokerStars Blog / Kenneth Lim.