Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Forty-One Players Confirmed For $1 Million Tournament At 2014 World Series Of Poker

Negreanu, Cates, Haxton Among Those Who Locked Up Seats


Card Player’s 2014 WSOP coverage is sponsored by CarbonPoker.

Esfandiari after winning the event in 2012 for $18.3 millionOn Tuesday, the World Series of Poker announced that it has a new batch of players who have locked up a seat in the $1 million buy-in event, which begins on June 29.

The new names are Daniel Cates, Daniel Colman, Tom Hall, Isaac Haxton, John Morgan, Greg Merson, Daniel Negreanu, Doug Polk, Scott Seiver and Talal Shakerchi.

As of of June 17, just 15 seats are still available to be claimed in the event, which has a 56-player cap.

Players who confirmed earlier this year include Antonio Esfandiari, Guy Laliberté, Bobby Baldwin, David Einhorn, Phil Galfond, Philipp Gruissem, Phil Ivey, Jason Mercier, Paul Newey, Vivek Rajkumar, Brian Rast, Andrew Robl, Erik Seidel, Brandon Steven, Sam Trickett, Noah Schwartz and Jean-Robert Bellande.

Many amateurs poker players who play in the high-stakes Macau cash games are also confirmed, but have opted to stay anonymous for now.

If the event reaches the 56-player cap, which the WSOP believes it will, more than $20 million would likely go to the winner—the largest sum in the history of open buy-in tournament poker.

For more coverage from the 2014 summer Series, visit our WSOP landing page.

If you can’t get to the Rio, you can still compete with Carbon Poker. Click the banner below for more info. Card Player readers are eligible for an initial deposit bonus of 200 percent up to $5,000.