Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Dominik Nitsche Wins Third Bracelet In World Series of Poker 2014 $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em Event

German Pro Wins $335,659 Less Than A Month After Winning WSOP Circuit National Championship


Card Player’s 2014 WSOP coverage is sponsored by CarbonPoker.

Less than a month after winning his second gold bracelet in the 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit National Championship, German poker pro Dominik Nitsche topped a field of 2,043 entrants in event no. 21, a $1,000 no-limit hold’em tournament, winning his third WSOP title and the $335,659 first-place prize.

With this most recent win the 23-year-old became the youngest player in WSOP history to earn three bracelets. Previously this record was held by none other than Phil Ivey, who achieved the feat at the age of 24.

“It feels really good to win this one,” said Nitsche after play concluded. “Of course, the first one feels really great, and so does the second one, and so does the third. They all feel good in different ways because this is the top prize on poker. This is what we play for.”

Michael Phelps on the rail sweating good friend Jeff GrossNitsche topped a stacked final table that included the like of Jeff Gross (6th – $56,549), Thayer Rasmussen (5th – $76,443), Zachary Gruneberg (4th – $104,594) and 2011 November Niner Badih “Bob” Bounahra (3rd – $145,229). In fact, the final table was such a draw that both all-time tournament poker earnings leader Antonio Esfandiari and all-time Olympic gold medal leader Michael Phelps spent time on the rail.

Nitsche entered the final table in third chip position, and survived to heads-up play against Dave D’Alesandro with 1,770,000 of the roughly 6.1 million chips in play. The two battled it out for a total of 92-hands, with Nitsche grinding to stay alive for most of the match. Late in the match he took the lead when his AClub Suit9Heart Suit outran D’Alesandro’s pocket fours. The board ran out KHeart Suit10Heart Suit6Heart Suit3Spade Suit7Heart Suit, giving Nitsche a rivered flush and a sizable lead. Six hands later D’Alesandro got all-in with the QClub Suit7Diamond Suit against Nitsche’s KDiamond Suit6Heart Suit and was unable to come from behind, hitting the rail as the runner-up with 208,931 for his deep run.

In addition to the bracelet and the prize money Nitsche also earned 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was his third final table and second title of the year, and as a result he climbed to 25th place in the overall POY standings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dominik Nitsche $335,659 1080
2 Dave D’Alesandro $208,931 900
3 Badih Bounahra $145,229 720
4 Zachary Gruneberg $104,594 540
5 Thayer Rasmussen $76,443 450
6 Jeff Gross $56,549 360
7 Eric Milas $42,382 270
8 Billy Horan $32,168 180
9 David Burt $24,702 90

Winner photo courtesy of WSOP.

For more coverage from the 2014 summer series, visit our WSOP landing page.

If you can’t get down to the Rio, you can still compete with Carbon Poker. Click the banner below for more information. Card Player readers are eligible for an initial deposit bonus of 200 percent up to $5,000.