Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Keven Stammen Wins 2014 World Poker Tour Championship At Borgata

American Poker Pro Wins $1,350,000 For Topping 328 Player Field


For the first time in the World Poker Tour’s 12-year history the climactic season-ending WPT Championship was not held at the Bellagio but made the move to the Borgata in Atlantic City, New Jersey. The event changed it’s buy-in from $25,000 to $15,000 and guaranteed a $5 million prize pool.

A total of 328 players turned out for the inaugural running at the new venue, but in the end only one player was destined to become the newest WPT champion: Keven Stammen. For the win the Ohio native earned $1,350,000 and 1,440 Card Player Player of the Year points. Stammen had already made three final tables this year, including a win in a prelim at the L.A. Poker Classic, and as a result of those scores and this most recent huge win, Stammen now sits in third place in the overall POY standings, with 3,052 total points and $1,610,129 in year-to-date.

Byron KavermanStammen entered the televised final of six with the chip lead, but he had to overcome some top-level competition in the likes of Curt Kohlberg (5th – $286,292), Ryan D’Angelo (4th -$363,930), the WPT’s own Tony Dunst (3rd – $452,729) and eventual runner-up Byron Kaverman.

Stammen began heads-up play with Kaverman holding a roughly 2-to-1 chip lead, and despite some ups and downs Stammen was eventually able to extend the lead even farther before the final hand arose. Stammen limped from the button for 200,000 and Kaverman moved all-in for 3,155,000 with the 4Spade Suit4Diamond Suit. Stammen made the call with the AClub Suit8Spade Suit and the two were flipping with the title hanging in the balance. The board ran out QHeart Suit9Club Suit6Spade Suit3Heart SuitAHeart Suit and Stammen spiked an ace on the river to secure the pot and the title while Kaverman was sent to the rail with $727,860 and 1,200 POY points.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Payout (USD) POY Points
1 Keven Stamnen $1,350,000 1440
2 Byron Kaverman $727,860 1200
3 Tony Dunst $452,729 960
4 Ryan D’Angelo $363,930 720
5 Curt Kohlberg $286,292 600
6 Abraham Korotki $235,341 480

Photos courtesy of World Poker Tour / Joe Giron.