Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Colombia's John Idagarra Leads Latin Series of Poker Millions Day 1B

BetCRIS Pro Gerardo Godinez and American Carter Gill Also Made Day 2


John IdagarraJohn Idagarra of Colombia finished Day 1B of the Latin Series of Poker Millions main event with the chiplead over the final 22 players who lasted through the day. When chips were bagged for the night at the Majestic Casino in Panama City, Panama Idagarra put away 252,000, trailed by Carter Gill with 250,000 and Pablo Eggarter with 202,500.

Pocket Queens favored Gabriel Diaz about two hours before play drew to a close and the two red ladies were enough to catapult the Peruvian to an overwhelming temporary chiplead late in the night.

With only 30 players still alive Diaz got involved in a pre-flop three-way all-in with a player holding pocket aces and another with AClub SuitKClub Suit. The Aces held the lead on a flop of Jx 10x 8Club Suit but Diaz and the player holding Ace-King picked up plenty of outs. Diaz’s straight was completed with a nine on the turn, leaving the owner of the Aces drawing dead and the player with Ace-King needing a Queen to complete Broadway. The river bricked for his opponent and with that hand Diaz took the chip lead for a short time.

While the starting field was slightly smaller on Day 1B – 221 players compared to Day 1A’s 268 – the field was no less stacked with some of the best players in the region.

Gerardo GodinezTeam BetCRIS pro Gerardo Godinez, best known for his 2011 European Poker Tour Grand Final main event 18th place finish for $59,369, was among the field and finished Day 1B with 105,000.

“I was playing the same table during the whole day, so I had a pretty good read on all the players. I was putting the pressure on every single player,” Godinez said of how he pressed his way into Day 2. “I put on the pressure about seven times because I knew that the money meant more for them during the bubble and they were going to fold good hands. They folded Ace-King twice and tens once, so I was right.”

Godinez, of Mexico, will join fellow BetCRIS pros Engelberth Varela of Venezuela, Felipe Montenegro of Costa Rica and Bolivar Palacios of Panama on Day 2.

“It’s going to be a good competition and all of us want to represent the team really good, but in my mind I want to win because I want to be the best out of all of them,” Godinez said. “It’s going to be fun and we want to all go deep. We are friends but we are not going to have any mercy between any of us.”

Carter GillAlso in the mix where Americans Leo Wolpert and 2012 Punta Cana Poker Classic champion Matthew Weber, who both played Day 1A as well.

Weber was unable to get anything going after firing multiple bullets but said he will return for Day 1C and try once again.

“For Day 1A I got up to a pretty big stack but then just ran into a couple of bad hands in a row and unfortunately bubbled,” Weber said. “It definitely would upset me if I didn’t make it to Day 2 after coming down from the states.”

Wolpert followed Weber to the rail just before the night ended.

Guillermo Olvera, the 2013 Punta Cana Poker Classic champion and one of the highest earning tournament winners out of Mexico, was also among those who did not make it through the day.

While Day 1B ended with Idagarra in the lead over the 22 players to advance on Day 1B, Team PokerStars pro Jose “Nacho” Barbero continued to hold the overall chiplead over the 48 pre-qualifiers and the 49 players from Day 1A and 1B with 336,000.

Day 1C will begin Monday, Mar. 10 at 2pm EST with live updates on For more information about the LSOP, click here.

Day 1B Chip Counts

John Idarraga 252,000 Colombia
Carter Gill 250,000 USA
Pablo Eggarter 202,500 Argentina
Johnny Sandoval 182,000 CR
Jose Luis Ruiz 174,000 Venezuela
Gabriel Diaz 172,500 Peru
Dan Kent 140,000
Jorge Viena 117,000 Peru
Javier Grant 116,000 CR
Giulio Oliviero 115,500 Colombia
Ravi Manne 114,000
Gerardo Godinez 105,000 mexico
Fernando Narvaez 105,000 Colombia
victor Lay Castro 96,500 peru
Jacobo Bucaram 91,500 Ecuador
Luis Perez 87,000 Venezuela
Ricardo Arosemena 72,000 Panama
Juan Fernando Lastra 66,000
James Downend 58,000 USA
Eitan Yechivi 58,000 Panama
Euclides Corro 50,000 Panama
Marcelo Ottonello 25,000 Argentina

Day 1A and Pre-Qualifiers

Jose Barbero 336,000 Argentina
Rafael Pardo 333,500 Colombia
Andres Farias 277,300 Colombia
Nicolas Malandre 237,500 Chile
Rodrigo Quezada 222,000 Chile
Camilo Posada 219,500 Colombia
Jose Espinoza 211,200 Peru
Phillip Nagy 200,000 Costa Rica
William Cole 199,700 USA
Ryan Smith 189,000 Canada
Adam Reynolds 185,800 Great Britain
Jaime Antelhoff 172,500 Uruguay
Jonathan Brown 164,500 USA
July Bianchi 159,000 Chile
Felip Montenegro 157,000 Costa Rica
Jelko Palma 155,000 Panama
Khaled Nassief 154,500 Mexico
Roman Valerstein 154,500 USA
Allan Zumeta 150,000 Peru
Francis Cruz 144,300 Dominican Republic
Vito Recchimurzo 144,000 Venezuela
Zennawi Petros 141,000 Canada
Fernando Decorato 140,000 Panama
Pablo Toimil 131,000 Argentina
Cristian Velasquez 130,000 Chile
Eduardo Bernal 125,000 Colombia
Bolivar Palacios 122,000 Panama
Jospehy Ferry 120,100 Canada
Ben Warrington 120,000 Ireland
Adeb Shoman 116,500 Panama
Jaime Ligator 116,500 Costa Rica
Flavio Arrieta 114,000 Peru
Jorge Postigo 112,500 Peru
Alberto Fonseca 111,100 Costa Rica
Juan Alberto Sanchez 110,200 Dominican Republic
Roberto Zamora 110,000 Costa Rica
Guillermo Echevarria 109,500 Peru
Jessica Perez 109,500 Panama
Jose Pino 109,500 Chile
Nickolas Davies 108,500 USA
Carlos Duran 108,000 Dominican Republic
Donys Agenelli 102,000 Venezuela
Roberto Ingino 101,500 Venezuela
Toma Haralampiev 101,500 Bulgaria
Oscar Ortiz 100500 Puerto Rico
John Restrepo 95,500 Colombia
Guillermo Rosario 95000 USA
Ricardo Chauriye 93,900 Chile
Engelberth Varela 90,500 Venezuela
Leonardo Tarazona 90,000 Colombia
Luis Janampa 86,000 Peru
Claudio Piedrabuena 82,000 Argentina
Carlos Lam 78,800 Panama
Sergio Larrain 77,900 Peru
Miguel Velasco 74,800 Colombia
Filippo Storino 72,100 Italy
Andrey Ardila 72,000 Colombia
Richard Webb 71,100 Canada
Manuel Aranguiz 71,000 Chile
Faiber Rodriguez 69,200 Colombia
John Abello 69,000 Colombia
Felipe Morbiducci 65,500 Chile
David Tarbet 65,000 Great Britain
Jorge Olivos 63,000 Chile
Norman Cordero 62,300 Costa Rica
Ezio Fenocchio 54,000 Italia
Raul Hauyana 54,000 Peru
Hector Quinonez 51,500 Dominican Republic
Emanuel Cardenas 44,000 Peru
Rogero Nordgren 42,000 USA
Manrique Quesada 41,000 Costa Rica
Fernando Sarmiento 37,500 Panama
Javier Ramirez 31,500 Honduras
Dustin Benda 23,500 USA
Miodrag Brkovic 19,900 Aruba