Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Yevgeniy Timoshenko Wins 2014 Aussie Millions $100,000 Super High Roller

American Poker Pro Wins $2 Million USD For Topping Largest Field In Event's History


Yevgeniy Timoshenko Yevgeniy Timoshenko was the lone survivor in the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions $100,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em super high roller. The American pro topped a record field of 76 entries, up from just 22 in 2013. For the win he earned $2 million AUD ($1,791,000 USD) and 840 Card Player Player of the Year points. As a result he climbed to 21st place in the overall POY standings and brought his lifetime live tournament earnings to nearly $6.8 million.

As you’d expect, Timoshenko had to top a star-studded field to emerge victorious in this high-stakes event. The final table alone featured the likes off Daniel Negreanu (6th – $550,000 AUD), Patrik Antonius (5th – $700,000) Doug “WGCRider” Polk (4th – $860,000) and Erik Seidel (3rd – $1,076,000). Heads-up play came down to Timoshenko and recent 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event runner-up Mike “Timex” McDonald. The two were relatively close in chips to start, but Timoshenko quickly pulled away to an almost 4-to-1 lead when the final hand arose.

Timoshenko min-raised to 240,000 from the button and McDonald three-bet to 600,000. Timoshenko moved all-in and McDonald quickly called for roughly 1 million more with the 10Heart Suit7Heart Suit. Timoshenko was ahead with the KDiamond SuitQSpade Suit. The board ran out 6Spade Suit5Club Suit2Diamond Suit8Diamond Suit3Heart Suit and with just king-high Timoshenko secured the pot and the title.

McDonald earned $1.5 million AUD ($1,343,250 USD) for his runner-up finish, as well as 700 POY points. In addition to his runner-up finish in the PCA main event McDonald also finished eighth in the PCA $100,000 buy-in super high roller, and as a result of this being his third huge final table finish he has further secured his claim on second-place spot in the POY standings with 2,800 points and $2,625,435 in year-to-date earnings.

Here is a look at the payouts and the POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Yevgeniy Timoshenko $1,791,000 840
2 Mike McDonald $1,343,250 700
3 Erik Seidel $963,558 560
4 Doug Polk $770,130 420
5 Patrik Antonius $626,850 350
6 Daniel Negreanu $492,525 280
7 David Steicke $402,975 210
8 Martin Jacobson $313,425 140