Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Ami Barer Wins The 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event

Canadian Captures $1.6 Million AUD For Topping 668-Player Field


Canada’s Ami Barer emerged victorious in the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions $10,600 AUD no-limit hold’em main event. The 22-year-old topped a 668-player field to earn his first major live title, the $1.6 million AUD ($1,432,800 USD) first-place prize and 2,100 Card Player Player of the Year points. As a result he has been catapulted into third place in the overall POY race standings.

Sorel MizziBarer topped a tough final table that featured the likes of Scott Seiver (7th – $152,235), Darren Rabinowitz (4th – $402,975) and Jacob Balsiger (3th – $582,075). In the end it came to a heads-up battle with fellow Canadian and 2010 Aussie Millions main event third-place finisher Sorel Mizzi. Barer held just over a 2-to-1 chip lead when heads-up play began, and he was quickly able to extend that lead before the final hand arose.

Barer had opened from the button and Mizzi had moved all-in over the top and Barer snap called with the ASpade SuitAHeart Suit. Mizzi held the QDiamond Suit8Diamond Suit and would need some help if he wanted to mount a comeback. The board ran out KSpade Suit2Heart Suit2Club Suit3Heart SuitADiamond Suit however, giving Barer aces-full to secure the pot and the title of 2014 Aussie Millions main event champion.

Here is a a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Ami Barer $1,432,800 2100
2 Sorel Mizzi $895,500 1750
3 Jacob Balsiger $582,075 1400
4 Darren Rabinowitz $402,975 1050
5 Vincent Rubianes $299,993 875
6 Andrew Phaedonos $223,875 700
7 Scott Seiver $152,235 525
8 Eoghan O’Dea $116,415 350

Photos courtesy of Shannon Morris / 2014 Aussie Millions Poker Championship.