Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Tyler Morris Wins 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw Main Event

Texan Tops Field of 1,428 Entries, Wins $369,503


Tyler Morris topped a gigantic field of 1,428 entries in the $1,675 World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw no-limit hold’em main event, earning his first major title, the $369,503 first-place prize and 960 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. As a result he moved into ninth place in the overall POY standings.

“I started feeling good with five people to go,” Morris told after his win. “Everyone at the final table was so cool. It really helped out play and made decisions easy.”

The huge turnout built a $2,142,000 prize pool, blowing away the event’s $1 million guarantee and in the process becoming he fourth largest main event in the WSOP Circuit’s decade-long history.

Morris outlasted plenty of top-flight tournament talent that turned up at the Choctaw Resort Casino in Durant, OK including Joe Kuether, Kevin Eyster, T.J. Cloutier and 2009 Player of the Year Eric Baldwin. He made it to heads-up play against Shelby Penka holding about a 3-to-2 chip lead. The battle lasted several hours, but eventually Morris was able to land the knockout blow.

He raised to 600,000 from the button and Penka moved all in. Morris called with the KDiamond SuitJClub Suit and found that he was ahead of Penka’s 8Club Suit6Club Suit. The board ran out KSpade SuitKClub Suit6Spade Suit3Diamond Suit10Spade Suit securing the pot and the title for Morris and sending Penka to the rail with $229,194) for his runner-up showing.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Tyler Morris $369,503 960
2 Shelby Penka $229,194 800
3 Clyde Walters $167,954 640
4 Preston Harwell $127,685 480
5 Jeff Gibralter $97,204 400
6 Joshua Evans $74,863 320
7 Jesse Capps $58,327 240
8 Michael Sanders $45,967 160
9 Julie Walker $36,650 80