Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Guillermo Olvero Wins 2013 Punta Cana Poker Open Main Event

Mexican Wins $171,100 and Becomes First Latin Champion In The Event's Four-Year History


A total of 490 entires were made in the 2013 Punta Cana Poker Classic $1,500 no-limit hold’em main event, building a prize pool of $712,312. For the first time in the event’s four year history the champion is from Latin America, with Mexico’s Guillermo Olvero emerging victorious. For the win Olvero earned $171,100 and 720 Card Player Player of the Year points.

The event spanned five days at the beautiful Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic and featured a $500,000 guaranteed prize pool that was exceeded by more than $200,000.

Olvero defeated Chile’s Leo Otazo heads-up to capture the title. Other notables who made deep runs include World Poker Tour champion Carter Phillips (35th – $4,278), Jonathan Roy (25th – $5,704) and Anthony Zinno (4th – $38,500). This was Zinno’s sixth final table showing of 2013, including a win in the WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open main event for $825,099. As a result the American poker pro has climbed to 20th place in the overall Player of the Year standings, with 2,552 points and $974,342 in year-to-date earnings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Guillermo Olvero $171,100 720
2 Leo Otazo $101,952 600
3 Jonathan Iacovelli $62,740 480
4 Anthony Zinno $38,500 360
5 Chanracy Khun $30,657 300
6 Gabriel Diaz $23,527 240
7 Patrick Serda $20,676 180
8 Derrick Scott $17,184 120
9 Stuart Marshak $14,972 60