Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Blair Hinkle Wins Second World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main Event Title

Young Pro Earns $121,177 For Topping 367-Player Field


Blair HinkleBlair Hinkle has won his second World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Council Bluffs $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event title, topping a field of 367 entrants to win $121,177 and 600 Card Player Player of the Year points. Hinkle took down this very same event in 2010, and is the only player in the history of the WSOP Circuit to achieve this feat of winning the same main event twice.

“Coming into the final table, my mom mentioned story lines for the reporters. I thought this would be a good one so I tried to make it happen,” Blair jokingly told after the win.

With this most recent score the 27-year-old professional poker player from Kansas City, Missouri’s live tournament winnings now exceed $1.6 million.

Hinkle came into the final day in third chip position, and entered heads-up play at a slight disadvantage with roughly 3 million of the 7,340,000 chips in play. Hinkle was able to wrangle the chip lead away from Brendan Waite, however, and stretched his lead until he held about 75 percent of the chips in play when the final hand arose.

With blinds of 40,000-80,000 with a 10,00 ante, Waite limped and Hinkle checked his option. The flop brought the KSpade Suit 5Club Suit 3Diamond Suit and both players checked. The KDiamond Suit paired the board on the turn, prompting a 125,000 bet from Hinkle. Waite raised to 325,000 and Hinkle called. The 6Spade Suit hit the river and Hinkle checked to Waite, who fired out 420,000. Hinkle moved all-in over the top, and after tanking for a few minutes, Waite made the call. Hinkle rolled over the 4Heart Suit2Diamond Suit for a six-high straight and Waite’s 7Club Suit6Heart Suit was revealed as the second-best hand. With that, Hinkle secured the title and the $121,177 payday.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Blair Hinkle $121,177 600
2 Brendan Waite $74,881 500
3 Sean Small $54,716 400
4 Mark Bonsack $40,627 300
5 Lance Garcia $30,635 250
6 Trevor Deeter $23,448 200
7 Sterling Savill $18,209 150
8 Ben Smith $14,343 100
9 Timothy Hughes $11,457 50