Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets

CPPT VI - The Bicycle Casino

$1,100 No-Limit Hold'em Quantum $500K GTD


William Wolf Leads After Day 1A of 2018 CPPT Bike Main Event

The $500,000 guaranteed Card Player Poker Tour Bicycle Casino $1,100 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event kicked off on Wednesday, October 17 as part of the Bike’s 2018 Big Poker Oktober series. Day 1A was the ...

Michael Gathy Wins WSOP $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em

Beats Out Large Field of 2,799 to Win $440,829


Michael GathyEarly Wednesday morning, Belgian Michael Gathy won the $1,000 no-limit hold’em event at the 2012 World Series of Poker. He outlasted a field of 2,799 to scoop $440,829 in prize money and 1,200 Card Player Player of the Year points, which moved him into 36th place in the overall standings when combined with a six-place finish in a €1,000 pot-limit Omaha event at the 2012 Euro Finals of Poker.

The 23-year-old professional beat out bracelet winners Eric Baldwin (5th) and John Esposito Jr. (4th), as well as former online pro Jamie “pokerjamers” Armstrong heads-up to take the title. The win was Gathy’s first cash at the WSOP.

According to the WSOP, Gathy is just the second bracelet winner from Belgium, with Davidi Kitai having won a bracelet back in 2008.

Here are the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Michael Gathy $440,829 1200
2 Jamie Armstrong $273,776 1000
3 Noah Vaillancourt $193,089 800
4 John Esposito Jr. $139,457 600
5 Eric Baldwin $101,948 500
6 Eric Davis $75,422 400
7 Jean-Louis Santoni $56,453 300
8 Jason Manggunio $42,749 200
9 Joshua Field $32,748 100

For complete coverage of the summer poker festival, check out our WSOP landing page.