Poker Coverage:

EPT Tallinn Champion Kaiser, LAPT Punta Champion Komaromi Win POY Points

Sami Kelopuro Also Makes A POY Push in Estonia


Ronny Kaiser Wins in EstoniaTwo major tournament series came to a conclusion on Sunday, August 7 and they each awarded thousands of points in the Card Player Player of the Year race to final table contestants and champions. Read on below to see who emerged victorious at the European Poker Tour main event in Tallinn, Estonia and at the Latin American Poker Tour main event in Punta del Esta, Uruguay and how those final tables have affected the POY race.

Sami Kelopuro Climbs Past 2,000 Points at EPT Tallinn

Ronny Kaiser became the first PokerStars European Poker Tour champion from Switzerland when he won the first event of EPT Season 8, in Tallinn, Estonia. The 21-year-old Kaiser won €275,000 after defeating a field of 282 players in the €4,250 event. He also took home 1,344 Player of the Year points, which puts him in a tie for 149th place in the increasingly competitive standings.

“It’s great to win. I’ve been chip leader for three days so I was really thinking this time I’m going to win it. I have had deep runs four or five times but always finished around 20th. Now my goal is to become the first ever Swiss World Series bracelet winner,” said Kaiser after the victory.

Kaiser found himself up against the likes of Sami Kelopuro, Jani Sointula, and Stuart Fox, but it was Polish player Grzegorz Cichocki whom he had to beat heads-up. Cichocki scooped €180,000 for his runner-up finish and also added 1,120 POY points.

It was the Finnish professional Kelopuro who got the most out of his final-table appearance in terms of the POY race. He cashed in seventh place, which was good for 336 points and puts him in a tie for 35th place overall with Tristan Wade (2,136 points a piece). Kelopuro’s other points came from a runner-up finish in the $10,000 pot-limit Omaha championship at the World Series of Poker that gained him $503,173 and 1,800 points.

Here is a look at the prize money and POY points awarded in Estonia:

1: Ronny Kaiser — €275,000 (1,344 points)
2: Grzegorz Cichocki — €180,000 (1,120 points)
3: Raigo Aasmaa — €110,000 (896 points)
4: Jani Sointula — €80,000 (672 points)
5: Stuart Fox — €55,000 (560 points)
6: Erlend Melsom — €45,000 (448 points)
7: Sami Kelopuro — €35,000 (336 points)
8: Arvi Vainionkulma — €25,000 (224 points)

LAPT Punta del Este is a Lucrative POY Stop in the Southern Hemisphere

The PokerStars Latin American Poker Tour has made a habit of attracting large tournament fields during Season 4. The kickoff event in Sao Paolo, Brazil boasted a field of 536 players, while the Vina del Mar event in Chile attracted 621 players. The LAPT Punta del Este main event in Uruguay continued that trend and attracted a record-breaking 422 players from 30 different countries, spanning five continents.

When the final pot was pushed, Uruguay’s own Alex Gustavo Komaromi had won the trophy and $244,720 in prize money. He also took home 1,440 points thanks to the large turnout. The top prize was enough to take him to a tie for 116th place on the leader board. “I feel great. I haven’t played many tournaments, so to play my first big event and have this performance, it’s great. I’m really, really happy,” said Komaromi.

Runner-up Claudio Enzo Daniel Piedrabuena from Argentina earned $141,220 for his efforts. The 52-year-old was the oldest player at the Punta del Este main event final table, and the six-figure cash was the largest of his career. He also took home 1,200 points.

Here is a look at the prize money and POY points awarded in Uruguay:

1: Alex Gustavo Komaromi — $244,720 (1,440 points)
2: Claudio Enzo Daniel Piedrabuena — $141,220 (1,200 points)
3: Engelberth Steve Varela — $88,970 (960 points)
4: Carlos Adolfo Watanabe — $65,430 (720 points)
5: Felipe Sangalli Pasini — $46,600 (600 points)
6: Nelson Trad Neto — $37,190 (480 points)
7: Fernando Araujo — $27,770 (360 points)
8: Rafael Lopes Monteiro — $18,360 (240 points)