Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Tim West Bests Annette Obrestad For Wynn Classic Title

Tournament Had 212 Entrants, $318,738 Top Prize


Tim West is the 2011 Wynn Classic Champion.The 2011 Wynn Classic Championship is in the books, with Tim West taking down the title after an exhausting heads-up battle with Annette Obrestad.

Several different events ran from March 2-24 inside the Wynn in Las Vegas, concluding with the $5,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em championship. A total of 212 players entered the event, down from 242 entrants in 2010, to create a prize pool of $1,028,200.

A number of top pros cashed in the main event, including David Woo (10th), Men Nguyen (11th), Billy Kopp (12th) and Phil Hellmuth (19th). The final table contained familiars such as West, Obrestad, Carter King, Matthew Waxman and Eric Froehlich.

Annette ObrestadWest and Obrestad were heads up long into the morning before this final hand took place: Obrestad raised to 160,000 on the button and West made the call. On a flop of QSpade Suit6Spade Suit3Diamond Suit, West checked and Obrestad bet 175,000. West raised to 605,000 and Obrestad moved all in. West called, having her covered and showed KSpade Suit9Spade Suit for a flush draw. Obrestad held QHeart Suit10Spade Suit for top pair and the lead, but the KClub Suit turn card put West ahead and the 9Heart Suit on the river sealed it. West claimed the $318,738 top prize, and Obrestad earned $215,922 as the runner up.

Here’s a look at the top 9 finishers:

1. Tim West — $318,738
2. Annette Obrestad — $215,922
3. Matthew Waxman — $120,814
4. Max Steinberg — $71,974
5. Eric Froehlich — $51,410
6. Vasili Lazarou — $41,128
7. Carter King — $30,846
8. Francisco Braga — $20,564
9. John Kim — $17,944

2010 Wynn Classic Championship Details:

Buy-in – $5,000
Entrants – 242
Prize Pool – $1,173,700
Top Prize – $363,844
Winner – Brandon Cantu bested Jared Jaffee heads up

Other notes from the 2011 Wynn Classic

Scott Montgomery took a third place finish ($16,141) in the $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event, just days after winning the $1,500 no-limit hold’em event ($47,869).

Chad Brown won the $2,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event ($73,088) that took place just before the main event.