Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship Returns to Caesars Palace

Tournament Will Take Place From March 3-6


The seventh annual NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship will return to Caesars Palace on March 3-6 and this year, the field of 64 will be competing for their share of an even bigger prize pool. A total of $1.8 million will be up for grabs with the winner taking home $750,000.

In 2010, Annie Duke defeated Erik Seidel in the final round to earn $500,000 and the title. “Year after year, I look forward to competing among the toughest competition out there that the heads-up tournament brings together for fans to see nationwide,” said Duke. “I am excited to compete against the skill and mental toughness that my fellow poker players will showcase on the tables.”

Other notables scheduled to appear in this year’s event include Vanessa Rousso, Phil Ivey, Andy Bloch, Doyle Brunson, Chris Ferguson, Daniel Negreanu, Huck Seed, Paul Wasicka, Erik Seidel and 2010 World Series of Poker Main Event champion Jonathan Duhamel. Peter Eastgate, who went into a self-imposed retirement in 2010, will also appear.

Annie DukeThe drawing party will take place at Pure Nightclub on March 3 and the tournament will run from March 4-6 until a winner is crowned. The action will be filmed for broadcast on NBC over six consecutive Sundays in April and May.

“We are proud to broadcast the National Heads-Up Poker Championship for a seventh consecutive year for our viewers to see some of the most exciting poker in the world,” said Jon Miller, president of programming of NBC Sports and Versus. “You never know what match-ups you are going to get in Heads-Up. Every year we are amazed with the outcome of who beats who when the best of the best battle it out.”

Craig Hummer and Ali Nejad will provide commentary and Leeann Tweeden will return to serve as the host and sideline reporter. For the third year, will serve as the presenting tournament sponsor.

Card Player will be at Caesars Palace to bring you all of the action as well as a bracket challenge.

Year Winner Runner-up
2005 Phil Hellmuth Chris Ferguson
2006 Ted Forrest Chris Ferguson
2007 Paul Wasicka Chad Brown
2008 Chris Ferguson Andy Bloch
2009 Huck Seed Vanessa Rousso
2010 Annie Duke Erik Seidel