Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Taylor 'ambiguosity' Paur Wins Online Player of the Year Honors

Paur Holds Off Steve Gross For the Title


Taylor PaurIt’s official.

Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur is the 2010 Card Player Online Player of the Year. The race came down to the wire, but after the ball dropped Friday night, Paur was left with a record 11,030 points and the title.

Paur had led down the homestretch, but was forced to withstand a late surge from perennial favorite Steve “gboro780” Gross. Paur was unfazed by the push, finishing his year in style by winning the $75,000 guarantee on December 27.

In total, Paur earned $1,099,435 in 2010, which makes up more than two-thirds of his career earnings. The 22-year-old recorded 51 cashes during the year, but his most impressive stat hints at his consistency. Paur made 28 final tables during his run and managed to win an astounding 13 of them.

Steve GrossPaur deserves his recognition, but what Gross has accomplished in the last three years can’t be ignored. In 2008, Gross finished second to Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis. In 2009, he broke through for his own title. Now with another runner-up performance on his resume, Gross has managed to finish in the top two spots for the past three years. With $3,127,981 in winnings, the 25-year-old now sits in second place in the all-time OPOY earnings list.

After finishing ninth in 2009, Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek followed up with his best year ever, earning $782,355 for a third-place finish. The 37-year-old Canadian had a health scare earlier this year, but he was able to bounce back strong to keep himself in the running for OPOY honors.

Take a look at the final standings below.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1 Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 11,030 $1,099,435
2 Steve “gboro780” Gross 10,320 $1,023,658
3 Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 9,932 $782,355
4 Chris “Gettin Daize” Oliver 9,268 $854,769
5 Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet 9,164 $859,489
6 Zach “HustlerGrune” Gruneberg 8,984 $776,347
7 kirbynator 8,878 $1,143,749
8 Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy 8,874 $837,089
9 Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra 8,688 $1,319,012
10 Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal 8,432 $739,105

Paur scored a record number of points in 2010, but his opponents weren’t slouches either. The top six scores of 2010 were all big enough to be placed on all-time points top ten list.

In 2007, when Isaac “westmenloAA” Baron won the inaugural OPOY title, he scored 8,304 points. That same performance in 2010 would have been good for 11th place overall.

Here’s a look at the best scores and where they finished in the rankings.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points Year Finish
1 Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 11,030 2010 1st
2 Steve “gboro780” Gross 10,320 2010 2nd
3 Steve “gboro780” Gross 10,188 2009 1st
4 Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 9,932 2010 3rd
5 Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis 9,424 2008 1st
6 David “Doc Sands” Sands 9,420 2009 2nd
7 Chris “Gettin Daize” Oliver 9,268 2010 4th
8 Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet 9,164 2010 5th
9 Thayer “THAY3R” Rasmussen 9,100 2009 3rd
10 Zach “HustlerGrune” Gruneberg 8,984 2010 6th

Now that the year is over, it’s time to look at the lifetime earnings list. Yevgeniy “Jovial Gent” Timoshenko still leads with $3,185,416 in OPOY winnings, though more than half of that was picked up for taking down the PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP) main event last year. Gross sits in second place with $3,127,981 despite his largest score clocking in at $275,601.

Take a look at the all-time OPOY earnings list below.

Rank Player Name Lifetime Winnings
1 Yevgeniy “Jovial Gent” Timoshenko $3,185,416
2 Steve “gboro780” Gross $3,127,981
3 Greg “DuckU” Hobson $2,997,509
4 Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis $2,861,958
5 Tyson “POTTERPOKER” Marks $2,695,476
6 Daniel “djk123” Kelly $2,686,029
7 Shaun “tedsfishfry” Deeb $2,423,376
8 Kevin “BeL0WaB0Ve” Saul $2,290,982
9 Jon “PearlJammer” Turner $2,262,228
10 Kristoffer “Sumpas” Thorsson $2,198,415