Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Business Poker Tournaments

Dan Sindelar Wins First Event At Card Player Poker Tour Wynn Las Vegas

Heads-Up Deal Determines Champion In Record 793-Player Field


Event No. 1 – $550 No-Limit Hold’em $250,000 Guarantee

Daniel SindelarEvent no. 1 of the inaugural Card Player Poker Tour Wynn Las Vegas surpassed all expectations, drawing 793 entries to build a prize pool of $384,605. The $550 buy-in no-limit hold’em event decimated it’s $250,000 guaranteed prize pool by more than $130,000. After the three starting days, only 105 players remained to battle it out for the title and first-place prize of $73,074.

The final day featured numerous notable players, including Eric Baldwin (68th – $1,269), Christina Lindley (37th -$1,885), Osmin Dardon (30th – $2,231), Phil Collins (20th – $2,654), and Erica Schoenberg (11th – $4,923). A number of recognizable pros also made the final table, including 2012 World Series of Poker bracelet winner Brent Hanks (7th – $10,384), Matt Berkey (4th – $24,999) and Jimmy Tran (3rd – $34,999).

In the end Daniel Sindelar and Steven Hiltz made a deal heads-up that saw Hiltz take home $61,141 while Sindelar took home the title, a beautiful Wynn Classic trophy and $60,000. In addition to the title and the money, Sindelar also earned 456 Card Player Player of the Year points.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Daniel Sindelar $60,000* 456
2 Steven Hiltz $61,141* 380
3 Jimmy Tran $34,999 304
4 Matt Berkey $24,999 228
5 Kenneth Bass $18,461 190
6 Justin Tobin $13,846 152
7 Brent Hanks $10,384 114
8 Gary Bolden $8,077 76
9 Alan Schottenfeld $6,154 38

*Players made a deal heads-up.

Event No. 2 – $550 Pot-Limit Omaha Eight-or-Better

David ChicotskyA total of 87 players turned out for this pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better event, building a prize pool of $42,195. Only 10 players will make the money, with the eventual champion taking home the title and $13,080. Play was stopped after 15 levels with only 15 players remaining. The chip leader heading into the final day is David ‘The Maven’ Chicotsky with 145,500. 2013 World Series of Poker deuce-to-seven triple draw bracelet winner Randy Ohel is 12th in chips with 58,500.

Here is a look at the complete chip counts heading into the final day:

Rank Player Chip Counts
1 David Chicotsky 145,500
2 Mike Ungurean 144,000
3 Jeremy Markin 117,000
4 Robert Lum 110,000
5 Cedric Kolstad 109,500
6 Jacob Faulkner 109,000
6 Lawrence Cooper 109,000
8 Darryl Dauenhauer 101,500
9 Chris Gallagher 80,000
10 Steve Aaron 66,000
11 Jason Adams 64,500
12 Randy Ohel 58,500
13 Jeff Merril 45,500
14 Christopher Knapp 24,500
15 Jason Brewer 21,500

Most Viewed Articles

1 Phil Ivey Now Down $5.1 Million Under His 'Polarizing' Online Poker Screen Name
2 Study: You're Like A Pigeon When You Play Poker
3 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Stuck With $2.5 Million Overlay
4 Maryland Casino Says Former Employee Stole 'Highly Confidential' List Of High Rollers
5 Poker Strategy With Ed Miller: Reverse Bet Sizing Tells
6 Allen Kessler Wins 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit Foxwoods Main Event
7 Man Carjacks Vehicle From Golden Nugget Atlantic City, Returns Hours Later To Carjack Another And Gets Caught: Police
8 Poker Hand of the Week: 8/27/14
9 Texas Station Closes North Las Vegas Poker Room
10 2014 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Dan Smith and Jason Mercier Join Top 10