Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports 2016 WSOP

Lock Poker 2013 Player of the Year Update --Top Twenty Shaken Up As January Ends

A Look At The Players Who Made Moves In The POY Race This Week


Here is a look at the tournaments that made the biggest impact on the early goings of the 2013 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by Lock Poker.

NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship

Scott Seiver climbs to 13thThe NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship invitational returned for 2013, once again drawing 64 of the games’ best players and biggest personalities, each posting $25,000 to participate. The last player standing was Mike “The Mouth” Matusow, capturing his first title roughly five years. For the win Matusow earned 504 POY points and $750,000. Runner-up Phil Hellmuth continued with his 2012 hot streak, earning $300,000 for his deep run. Last year Hellmuth finished 8th in the POY race, but is surely looking to improve on that finish.

Scott Seiver, fresh off his $2 million win in the $100,000 buy-in PokerStars Caribbean Adventure super high roller, made a semifinal run, earning another $100,000 and 294 POY points. As a result, Seiver moved into 13th place in the overall standings with 894 points and $2,103,480 in year-to-date earnings.

Fallsview Poker Classic

Fallsview Casino ResortThe Fallsview Casino Resort in Niagara Falls, Canada played host to a number of sizable tournaments last week as a part of their 2013 Fallsview Poker Classic, and a number of the winners have found themselves in the mix in the POY race as a result.

The first event was a $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament that drew 600 entrants. Carol Hewitt-Misener emerged victorious with $153,942 and 840 POY, climbing into a four-way tie for 16th-place in the overall standings as a result.

The second event was a $2,500 buy-in that attracted 454 players. Joe Ardagna came out on top for $305,246 and 1,080 POY points, catapulting him into seventh place in the POY standings.

Finally, the main event was a $5,000 buy-in with 146 entrants. Nicolas Petrina was the eventual champion, scoring $203,577 and 576 points for the win. He now sits in 37th place in the POY rankings.

Beau Rivage’s Million Dollar Heater

Ty ReimanA total of 255 players turned out for the 2013 Million Dollar Heater $2,500 buy-in main event at Biloxi, Mississippi’s Beau Rivage Resort Casino, building a prize pool of $618,375. The last player standing was tournament pro Ty Reiman, known as “puffinmypurp” online.

For the win the Morton, Illinois resident earned $185,510 and 612 POY points. As a result, Reiman now sits in 32nd place in the overall standings, increasing his career live tournament earnings to more than $2.5 million. Reiman also has online tournament earnings in excess of $1.6 million.

Here is a look at the top twenty in the Player of the Year race:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Dimitar Danchev 2,280 $1,859,000
2 Joel Micka 1,900 $1,190,000
3 Jerry Wong 1,520 $725,000
4 Vanessa Selbst 1,260 $1,424,420
5 Vladimir Troyanovskiy 1,200 $1,049,760
6 Jonathan Roy 1,140 $560,000
7 Joe Ardagna 1,080 $305,246
8 Owen Crowe 998 $439,200
9 Rupert Elder 960 $263,925
9 Jeffrey Fielder 960 $312,080
11 Baptiste Chavillaz 912 $216,275
12 Domenic Triumbari 900 $153,143
13 Scott Seiver 894 $2,103,480
14 Fabian Craib 890 $158,355
15 Ankush Mandavia 880 $86,574
16 Michael Watson 840 $462,320
16 Carol Hewitt-Misener 840 $153,942
16 Nicolau Lobos 840 $162,319
16 Michel Bouskila 840 $116,127
20 Ole Schemion 830 $410,340