Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Business Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports

Lock Poker 2013 Player of the Year Update -- Fielder and Schemion Climb

A Look At The Players Who Made Moves In The POY Race This Week


Here is a look at the tournaments that made the biggest impact on the early goings of the 2013 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by Lock Poker.

World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw

Jeff Fielder A total of 1,140 entrants posted the $1,675 buy-in in the 2013 World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw main event, the third largest WSOPC main event in the tour’s history. The great turnout built a prize pool of $1,710,000.

After three long days of battling it out on the felt, the last player standing was Des Moines, Iowa resident Jeff Fielder. For the win the he earned his second gold ring, the $312,080 first-place prize and 960 Card Player Player of the Year points. As a result, Fielder now its in seventh place in the overall POY standings, just 10 points ahead of PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event fifth-place finisher Owen Crowe.

Fielder defeated Matthew Kirby heads-up for the title. For his runner-up finish the Bemidji, Minnesota resident earned $192,751 and 800 POY points, climbing to 12th in the overall POY standings as a result.

Borgata Winter Poker Open Prelims

Joseph StiersThe 2013 Borgata Winter Poker Open is a 25-event festival centered around the $3,500 World Poker Tour no-limit hold’em main event which begins on Jan. 27th.

This past week the series kicked off with a gigantic $1 million guaranteed-prize pool $560 no-limit hold’em re-entry event that drew an incredible 3,871 entrants, blowing away the guarantee to build a $1,935,500 total prize pool. In the end the last player standing was Joseph Stiers, who earned $318,104 and 660 POY points for the win.

Less than a week previous he topped a field of 39 in the $5,300 buy-in heads-up no-limit hold’em event at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure, earning $85,130 but no POY points, as the event failed to qualify with a minimum of 50 players or a prizepool of $250,000 or higher. He also cashed for an another $31,475 in a invitational event put on by PokerStars. The Silver Spring, Maryland resident now sits in 16th place in the overall standings, with year-to-date earnings of more than $400,000.

PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Side Events

Ole SchemionLast week’s POY update covered the three largest events from the 2013 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure, including the highly impactful main event. As the huge series wound down it played host to one more event that’s having an impact on the POY top ten: a $10,300 no-limit hold’em six-max turbo.

The event drew a field of 88 players, building a prize pool of $853,600. The final table was a star-studded affair, with tournament heavyweights like Steve O’Dwyer, Jason Koon, and Dani Stern finishing deep. A deal was made four-handed, with the win going to Shannon Shorr for $160,610 and 480 POY points. As a result, Shorr climbed to 29th place in the rankings.

Fresh off a fourth-place showing in the PCA $25,000 high roller, Ole Schemion finished fifth in this event for $55,480 and 200 POY points, climbing to 11th place in the overall standings. The young German pro is continuing his strong form from 2012,when he finished fifth overall in the POY race.

WPT Regional Coconut Creek

The World Poker Tour Regional Coconut Creek main event took place this past week in Florida. The $500 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament drew a field of 284 entrants, building a $150,000 prize pool. In the end Adam “Roothlus” Levy emerged victorious, taking home $35,250 and 228 POY points for the win.

Levy topped a final table that featured fellow tournament pro Stuart Patterson to capture his tenth career title. His live tournament earnings are now just shy of $2 million, with online earnings of $1,769,261.

Here is a look at the top twenty in the Player of the Year race:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Dimitar Danchev 2,280 $1,859,000
2 Joel Micka 1,900 $1,190,000
3 Jerry Wong 1,520 $725,000
4 Vanessa Selbst 1,260 $1,424,420
5 Vladimir Troyanovskiy 1,200 $1,049,760
6 Jonathan Roy 1,140 $560,000
7 Jeffrey Fielder 960 $312,080
8 Owen Crowe 950 $435,000
9 Baptiste Chavillaz 912 $216,275
10 Michael Watson 840 $462,320
11 Ole Schemion 830 $410,340
12 Matthew Kirby 800 $192,751
13 Zhong Chen 760 $133,350
13 Andrey Shatilov 760 $325,000
15 Andoni Sanchez 672 $279,000
16 Joseph Stiers 660 $318,104
17 Dale Roesel 640 $143,230
18 Eric Varela 608 $98,310
19 Regent Lacroix 600 $92,120
19 Scott Seiver 600 $2,003,480