Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Business Poker Tournaments

Greg Hobson Wins Inaugural WSOP Ante Only No-Limit Hold'em Event

Tops Tough Final Full Of Online Pros To Win First Bracelet


Greg HobsonGreg “DuckU” Hobson has won the first-ever ante only no-limit hold’em tournament held at the World Series of Poker, outlasting a field of 939 players who put up the $1,500 buy-in to earn his first WSOP gold bracelet, the $256,691 first-place prize and 912 Card Player Player of the Year points.

Antes have been common in poker tournaments for a long time, but have almost always been in addition to blinds. The WSOP tested out an ante-only no-limit hold’em event at the 2012 WSOP Circuit Caesars Palace series, and received enough positive feed-back to try to integrate it into the offerings at the Rio.

“Turn out was great, we had a lot of praise and all the players are asking for it, so we decided to have a $1,500 event at the WSOP for a gold bracelet” said World Series of Poker Tournament Director Jack Effell. “We came up with our own derivative of ante only, where you ante every hand and the person to the left of the button will have a bring in, which will be the minimum denomination at the table.”

Mike SowersBefore becoming more commonly spread in a live settings this tournament format found a following online, so it was little surprise to see a number of players who had cut their teeth on the virtual felt make it deep.

Notables who made it deep include Erick Lindgren (11th – $14,477), Mike “Timex” McDonald (6th – $39,931), Harrison “gibler123” Gimbel (4th – $72,155), and runner-up Mike “SowersUNCC” Sowers (2nd – $158,887).

Hobson is a highly successful online tournament specialist himself, with more than $3.1 million in earnings in online events. The quarter-million he won for topping this event was by far his largest live score to date, but he had previously made two larger scores online that both exceeded $450,000.

Here is a look at the complete payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Greg Hobson $256,691 912
2 Mike Sowers $158,887 760
3 John Hayes $99,409 608
4 Harrison Gimbel $72,155 456
5 Eugene Du Plessis $53,267 380
6 Mike McDonald $39,931 304
7 Seth Davies $30,373 228
8 Sameer Aljanedi $32,413 152
9 Justin Schwartz $18,292 76

Most Viewed Articles

1 Phil Ivey Now Down $5.1 Million Under His 'Polarizing' Online Poker Screen Name
2 Study: You're Like A Pigeon When You Play Poker
3 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Stuck With $2.5 Million Overlay
4 Maryland Casino Says Former Employee Stole 'Highly Confidential' List Of High Rollers
5 Poker Strategy With Ed Miller: Reverse Bet Sizing Tells
6 Allen Kessler Wins 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit Foxwoods Main Event
7 Man Carjacks Vehicle From Golden Nugget Atlantic City, Returns Hours Later To Carjack Another And Gets Caught: Police
8 Poker Hand of the Week: 8/27/14
9 Texas Station Closes North Las Vegas Poker Room
10 2014 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Dan Smith and Jason Mercier Join Top 10