Daniel Negreanu Shoots a Major Angle
by Roy Winston | Published: Jan 08, '10
So here I am in Cyprus adjusting to the ten hour time difference between LA/Vegas and I’m catching up on the action at PCA and came across a video update with Daniel Negreanu where he is playing a hand against an opponent and they are on the river. Here is the link, watch it for yourself before you read any further:
I am going to go out on a limb here and say Negreanu has to know the rules of poker by now. So when he raises his opponent’s river bet and his opponent thinks it was a call and begins to roll over his hand, he knows full well that it doesn’t stop the action. It may result in a warning or penalty, but the hand is not over. In fact Negreanu has the advantage because he has seen part of his opponent’s hand. Then at the end of the video Negreanu say’s “I wasn’t going to call anyway,” yeah right! The whole thing, calling the floor after he saw part of the hand was an attempt to see if his straight was good and decide if his opponent had aces up or a full house. It was a terrible decision by the floor person, clearly being pressured by Negreanu. Kind of interesting that he is helping roll out a new poker tour as an “ambassador” of PS, and he muscles the floor guy, who you can see has a PS logo on his shirt, I was truly shocked buy the whole episode. Let me know what you think.